The Cole County Commission meeting on September 29, 2026 included several procurement and public-works actions. Commissioners approved the South Brooks Drive Storm Water Improvements Phase III contract; the project received seven bids, had an engineer’s estimate of about $1.56 million, was reported at approximately $1.2 million, and includes a $500,000 CDBG grant. They awarded bid 2026-15 for property tax payment services to Invoice Cloud, Inc., which is expected to add online payment receipts and text and email notices; the contract was not yet ready for signature. The Commission also approved a $5,500 setup contract for a health-record system interface with the Missouri State Public Health Laboratory, with the lab to reimburse the initial cost and ongoing service priced at $60 per month.
Other approvals included a $24,160 prevention grant application to purchase three portable radios and a fingerprint scanner; public-works change orders of $7,830 less for Binder Park drainage improvements, an additional $42,378 for the Tanner Bridge Road bridge replacement, and $3,555 for Tanner Bridge Road safety improvements; and closeout of the 2026 chip-seal program at $505,022.60, covering 21 roads and roughly 25–26 miles. Commissioners also approved a $200,000 CPI Telecom phone-system platform migration; the vendor waived about $19,000 in maintenance charges. A resolution authorizing participation in the 2026 JAG interlocal agreement was approved. Votes on these items were unanimous as heard in the transcript.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
Oxnard Planning Commission meeting, October 9, 2026 (the agenda title references October 15), considered the Maulhardt Stiles Sub-Neighborhood Plan for about 107 acres in the East Village area. The plan would amend the Northeast Community Specific Plan and allow up to 950 homes, 40,000 square feet of commercial uses, parks, and circulation improvements. It also provides for 15% affordable housing, public open space and park improvements, and new water, sewer, and storm-drain systems. A tentative tract map would create 13 master lots for phased development. No contract award, bid, vendor selection, or other procurement action was identified.
Staff described the project’s environmental review, including potentially significant unavoidable impacts involving prime farmland conversion, air quality, and cultural resources. After public comments focused on traffic, noise, parking, affordable housing, and park use, staff recommended that the Commission adopt resolutions recommending that City Council certify the Final EIR and approve the tentative map. The transcript does not report a Commission vote or action on those recommendations.
North Dakota opened the application period for its Legacy Investment for Technology (LIFT) program on October 5, 2026. The state-administered loan program supports in-state companies commercializing intellectual property and targets technology and other industries that can diversify the state’s economy. Applications are due November 9, 2026; the amount of funding available in this round has not been specified. Companies developing eligible technologies can assess whether the staged-interest loan terms fit their commercialization and financing plans and submit an application by the deadline.
The application period is open, with November 9, 2026 as the deadline—31 days from October 9.
LIFT is a loan program, not a contract solicitation; it may offer a financing route for North Dakota firms advancing intellectual property toward commercialization.
The application announcement does not state the round’s available funding, so applicants should not assume a specific award pool from this signal.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
💰
Grants & Funding
🛡️
Defense & Military
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
Walashek Industrial & Marine plans a $5 million expansion of its Norfolk operations, adding about 40 jobs over three years and establishing LCAC hovercraft maintenance and modernization capabilities at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek–Fort Story. The expansion is partly tied to Walashek’s anticipated support of a multiyear LHD boiler-support contract that NAVSEA awarded in February 2026. Virginia is providing $102,000 through the Virginia Jobs Investment Program to support the expansion.
The expansion adds naval maintenance and modernization capacity in Virginia, which may be relevant to contractors seeking qualified suppliers or subcontractors for amphibious ship and landing craft work.
Companies pursuing related naval maintenance work can assess whether Walashek’s planned capabilities align with their teaming or supply-chain needs; the signal does not identify a new solicitation or disclose the LHD contract value.
The state’s $102,000 economic-development contribution accompanies the company’s investment and hiring plan; it is not described as a procurement award.
💰
Grants & Funding
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
⚡
Energy & Utilities
On October 8, 2026, Virginia announced more than $67 million in Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative funding for home energy-efficiency work and affordable and special-needs housing. The funding includes $15 million for weatherization-deferral repairs and $52 million for housing work. Contractors may find potential opportunities through the state’s network of 15 weatherization providers, but the announcement did not identify a solicitation or procurement schedule.
The $15 million weatherization allocation may support contractor work delivered through the existing provider network; businesses should assess whether they can engage through those providers.
The $52 million housing allocation creates potential demand connected to affordable and special-needs housing projects. The announcement does not specify procurement methods or timelines.
DHCD’s listed email is an announcement contact, not a solicitation-specific contact; contractors should not treat it as an active procurement notice.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
⚡
Energy & Utilities
An October 6, 2026, Oklahoma Senate interim study identified statewide drinking-water infrastructure needs exceeding $24 billion and a proposed multi-phase project costing more than $20 million for Osage County Rural Water District 21. The district serves about 450 customers in the Pawhuska and Newkirk areas and has faced prolonged boil orders. The proposal involves coordination with the Osage Nation and Pawhuska, but lawmakers announced no solicitation, award, or procurement schedule; the study signals prospective demand rather than an active contracting opportunity.
The potential local project may require water-treatment, engineering, and distribution-system improvements; the broader statewide estimate indicates needs across Oklahoma’s public water systems.
Only 43% of Oklahoma’s 1,265 public water systems report rates sufficient to cover infrastructure costs, pointing to financing as a significant factor in developing projects.
Contractors can assess their capabilities for rural water-system planning, treatment, and construction, and follow state, local, and tribal funding or project announcements as these needs advance.
Ohio authorities announced indictments against three former Eastern Gateway Community College officials and associates in connection with an alleged scheme involving approximately $20 million in public funds, including federal student aid and state subsidies. The alleged conduct involved third-party servicing and controls over enrollment, attendance verification, fees, and financial-aid access. The announcement identifies no new solicitation or contracting opportunity, but it highlights oversight risks for public institutions and contractors supporting enrollment or student-aid operations.
Organizations contracting for enrollment, online coursework, or financial-aid support can use the allegations as a prompt to review third-party oversight, conflicts of interest, attendance verification, and fee controls.
Procurement teams may benefit from ensuring that service arrangements clearly establish contractor independence, accountability, and auditable controls over student-related processes.
The case concerns alleged conduct from 2017 through March 2022; it is a compliance and oversight signal, not an announced procurement opportunity.
💰
Grants & Funding
🌐
Digital Infrastructure
💻
Information Technology
📚
Education
On October 8, 2026, the State of New Mexico and Fujitsu announced plans to establish a quantum computing research center focused on hardware, software, algorithms, and workforce development, building on existing university research ties. The announcement disclosed no contract value, solicitation, or procurement schedule. The initiative comes amid more than $450 million in New Mexico quantum commitments since 2019, including a separate $25 million state award supporting Roadrunner Quantum Lab’s quantum campus in downtown Albuquerque and a September 2025 agreement with DARPA on the Quantum Frontier Project and Quantum Benchmarking Initiative.
The center’s planned research and workforce scope could create opportunities for firms offering quantum hardware, software, algorithm development, research support, and technical training, but no specific procurement has been announced.
Contractors can use the stated focus areas and New Mexico’s existing university research ties to assess potential capabilities or research and workforce collaborations.
New Mexico has not disclosed a solicitation or schedule; the state says contractors should watch for research, infrastructure, and workforce opportunities as its quantum efforts develop.
🔒
Cybersecurity
🌐
Digital Infrastructure
💻
Information Technology
USTDA is bringing a 15-member Jordanian government and private-sector delegation to the United States from October 10–24, 2026, to meet U.S. cybersecurity and super intelligence (SI) companies and explore technologies for Jordan’s critical infrastructure. U.S. firms can engage the delegation at a public business briefing on October 21 at the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National AI Center in Silicon Valley. The visit creates a commercial market-development opportunity, but the announcement identifies no specific solicitation, contract value, or procurement deadline.
U.S. cybersecurity and SI firms can use the October 21 briefing to present relevant capabilities and establish contacts with Jordanian government and private-sector delegates.
The delegation’s focus on critical infrastructure security may be relevant to firms offering cybersecurity tools and related technology; the announcement does not indicate a funded requirement or guarantee of future awards.
The briefing is scheduled for October 21, 2026 (12 days from the current date). The signal provides no registration details or proposal process.
HHS has proposed changes to federal Head Start regulations that could alter requirements for classroom size, instruction, health screenings, eligibility, service hours, staffing, bilingual support, and funding. On October 8, 2026, the Illinois Department of Early Childhood submitted comments opposing the proposal; Arizona senators, Kentucky Governor Andy Beshear, and attorneys general from 24 states and the District of Columbia have also urged the administration to reconsider. The changes remain proposed, and the signals identify no solicitation, award, funding amount, or comment deadline. For Head Start grantees, contractors, and service providers, the rulemaking could affect program operations and the scope or cost of services they deliver.
Providers and contractors serving Head Start programs should assess how the proposed changes could affect staffing, service hours, health-related services, bilingual support, and eligibility-related operations.
The state comments and requests to reconsider reflect uncertainty for organizations planning services and budgets tied to Head Start requirements; the signals do not establish that funding or services have changed.
Because no procurement opportunity or deadline is identified, companies should base planning on the proposed rule’s stated areas of change rather than assume a new solicitation or finalized requirement.
The Illinois Power Agency updated its Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) Budget Forecast with refreshed model inputs, methodology corrections, and changes required by P.A. 104-0458. The revised forecast moves the anticipated budget deficit from delivery year 2027–28 to 2029–30, changing the projected timing of pressure on program funding and future renewable energy credit (REC) spending. Renewable energy developers and other stakeholders should review the updated model and accompanying memo when assessing Illinois RPS-related business and funding assumptions.
The forecast provides an updated planning basis for developers and other stakeholders evaluating potential effects on RPS program funding and REC spending.
Companies can review the model and accompanying memo to understand the revised assumptions and methodology relevant to their Illinois market planning.