At the November 5, 2026 Full Board of Alders meeting, members discussed a proposed amendment to the city’s purchasing ordinance. The changes would align requirements with state law, allow the purchasing agent or controller to engage qualified contractors during declared emergencies even if they owe the city money, permit annual renewals of IT maintenance, licensing, subscription, upgrade, and support agreements after the initial procurement without further alderman approval, broaden the definition of a New Haven-based business, and allow electronic contract bonds. The finance committee recommended approval; the transcript does not clearly establish the final vote or disposition. The board also considered a $1,000 Regional Water Authority first responders grant for marine-rescue recovery cradles and a $77,240.02 payment for legal work completed in FY2025–26. The transcript mentions proposed transfers of several properties to the New Haven Land Bank, but the terms are unclear.
Other financial matters included requests for real-property-tax interest assistance, which a speaker said could bring in more than $10,000 in tax payments, and proposed changes to peak and off-peak rates. The finance committee recommended approval of the rate item, though its final vote is not clear in the transcript. The meeting also covered staffing reclassifications and community announcements; no additional procurement decisions can be confirmed from the available transcript.
NASA’s SEWP VI governmentwide acquisition contract began its 10-year ordering period on November 1, 2026. REI Systems has activated its Category B award, giving it an opportunity to compete for federal orders for enterprise IT modernization. SEWP VI has a $20 billion ceiling per contract; REI’s individual award value was not stated. Its offerings include AI, cloud and application modernization, cybersecurity, data analytics, DevSecOps, and systems integration.
Federal buyers can use SEWP VI to compete enterprise IT modernization requirements among contract awardees; REI Systems is now positioned to pursue orders through its Category B award.
Contractors should distinguish the vehicle-wide ceiling from an individual award or order value: the signal does not state REI’s individual contract value.
Companies providing complementary IT capabilities may evaluate opportunities to support REI’s stated service areas, including cloud modernization, cybersecurity, data analytics, and systems integration.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
⚡
Energy & Utilities
Maricopa County Planning and Zoning Commission meeting, held November 5, 2026 (as stated in the transcript; metadata lists November 6). The Commission approved the consent agenda 7–0, recommending approval of multiple land-use amendments and rezonings for industrial and utility projects, including the Sparrows Baseline Industrial Project, Desert Sun Power Plant, Painted Rock Energy Center projects, and Powerline Industrial. The consent agenda also included a special-use permit for an AT&T wireless communications facility relocation. No contracts, vendor selections, purchasing decisions, or other procurement activity were identified; these matters concerned land use and development approvals.
The Commission also voted 7–0 to recommend approval of a special-use permit for Agricultural Holdings’ existing contractor yard, subject to conditions addressing screening, landscaping, lighting, and operations. For Desert Whisper, a proposed comprehensive-plan amendment and rezoning of approximately 961 acres to heavy industrial, the applicant discussed potential data-center uses, infrastructure responsibilities, and possible neighborhood buffers; residents raised concerns about water, traffic, noise, flooding, and emergency response. The Commission recommended approval 7–0, with further public consideration scheduled before the Board of Supervisors on December 9 and an expectation that the applicant continue discussions with neighbors.
The North Clackamas School District Board of Directors held a special meeting on November 5, 2026, to interview three finalists for vacant Budget Committee position 10. The district received 13 completed applications; two were ineligible because the applicants lived outside district boundaries. Board members asked each candidate the same questions about Oregon school budgeting, funding priorities, transparency, collaboration, community engagement, and difficult resource-allocation decisions. No appointment or spending vote was taken; the board plans to vote at its November 19 meeting, and members were asked to submit their interview notes or scores.
Discussion addressed the committee’s role in reviewing the district budget and representing public interests, as well as funding constraints, declining enrollment, and planning for leaner years. Board members cited the district’s reserve fund and sustainable budgeting as strengths, and referred to the recently passed bond. No contracts, vendor selections, purchasing decisions, or procurement actions were identified.
🤖
Artificial Intelligence
💻
Information Technology
At a July 14, 2026 listening session, contracting experts and AI companies said the General Services Administration’s revised draft AI acquisition rule improved on earlier versions but still needs clearer definitions and closer alignment with commercial practices. The draft is not a current solicitation or a finalized requirement; its eventual terms could shape how agencies procure AI and how contractors address AI-related risks and delivery approaches in federal engagements.
Contractors should prepare to explain their approaches to AI definitions, data governance, and ethical risk management when engaging with federal buyers.
Companies may benefit from assessing whether their commercial AI delivery practices can be adapted to federal procurement, including flexible delivery approaches.
Because further revisions are anticipated, procurement teams can use the feedback from the session to identify areas that may change in the draft rule.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
Oxnard City Council agenda-item presentation on the Maulhardt Stiles Sub-Neighborhood Plan Project (meeting title dates it 11/17/2026; supplied metadata lists 11/6/2026). The proposal would guide development of an approximately 107-acre East Village site with up to 950 homes, 40,000 square feet of commercial space, and about 12.9 acres of parks. The plan also provides for a new high school site, streets and pedestrian facilities, phased development, and 15% affordable housing, with affordability requirements running for 55 years. The presentation described prior agreements involving the property owners, Oxnard Union High School District, and City concerning the school site and public access to recreational facilities; no procurement award, contract solicitation, or purchasing action was identified.
Staff recommended a public hearing and Council action to certify the Final EIR, approve a General Plan amendment, and take the stated first-reading action on the project’s zoning approval, subject to findings and conditions. The transcript does not record a Council vote or final approval. The EIR identifies significant unavoidable impacts to agricultural resources, air quality, and cultural resources; community feedback included concerns about parking in nearby neighborhoods. No procurement activity was identified.
In September 2026, the U.S. Army awarded AeroVironment a reported $464.8 million Other Transaction Authority agreement to move the Enduring-High Energy Laser (E-HEL) program into production. The program will produce 30-kilowatt LOCUST X3 mobile laser systems for countering unmanned aircraft systems. AeroVironment selected Leonardo DRS as a subcontractor for vehicle integration and power, thermal, and environmental-control work; the subcontract value and delivery schedule have not been disclosed.
The prime award creates supply-chain demand for mobile directed-energy integration, power management, cooling, and environmental-control capabilities.
Companies with relevant subsystem or military-vehicle integration expertise can assess potential teaming and supplier opportunities through AeroVironment; the signals identify no open solicitation or procurement contact.
The Army’s move from prototype development to production indicates a transition toward fielding mobile counter-UAS laser capability, with follow-on production or related requirements possible.
On October 26, 2026, the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) Board approved nearly $119 million in Measure M and Measure R funding for North County and South Bay transportation projects, plus up to $35 million for Long Beach’s Shoreline Drive Realignment Project—more than $150 million in programmed investment overall. The approvals establish potential downstream work in street and school-zone safety, active transportation, mobility hubs, transit access, traffic systems, and roadway improvements; they do not announce solicitations or procurement timelines.
The approved portfolio includes approximately $114.7 million for 23 South Bay projects, $5.18 million for North County active transportation projects, and up to $35 million for Shoreline Drive realignment.
Contractors and suppliers can use the named project areas and improvement types to assess relevant capabilities and potential local teaming needs, while recognizing that funding approval is not a contract award or solicitation.
No bid dates or procurement contacts are identified. Metro’s listed email and phone are for media inquiries, not procurement.
On October 7, 2026, the U.S. Department of Transportation awarded Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) a $25 million INFRA grant for Phase 2 of the SR-71 Gap Closure Project in Pomona, California. The planned work includes HOV and mixed-flow lanes, bridge upgrades to support freight movement, and other corridor improvements. The grant announcement does not identify solicitations, contractors, or a procurement schedule, so it signals a future project pipeline rather than an immediate bid opportunity.
The project’s potential scopes include roadway construction, bridge upgrades, freight-mobility improvements, and related corridor work.
Contractors and suppliers can use the announced project scope to assess relevant capabilities and prepare for Metro’s future procurement announcements; no bid dates or contract awards are specified.
The $25 million grant supports Phase 2, but the announcement does not establish that the grant amount is the total project budget or the value of any future contract.
Los Angeles Metro broke ground on the 6.7-mile East San Fernando Valley Light Rail Transit Project on October 19, 2026. The estimated construction cost is $3.998 billion, including an $893 million U.S. Department of Transportation grant. No specific solicitation or contractor award was announced, so the project represents a major upcoming infrastructure pipeline rather than a currently identified award opportunity.
The project’s scale and federal grant funding make it relevant to firms pursuing transit construction and related project packages.
Companies can use Metro procurement notices to identify upcoming solicitations; the announcement itself does not specify package scopes, awardees, or proposal deadlines.
Potential bidders and subcontractors can evaluate how their capabilities align with light rail construction needs as procurement packages are released.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
📚
Education
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
The Lansing School District Board of Education meeting was held November 5, 2026. The board received the district’s annual audit from Maynard, Kosterison & Ellis: the financial statements received an unmodified opinion, with no material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, compliance issues, or audit findings. The general fund ended the year with $45.6 million in fund balance after a decrease of about $6.5 million; the auditor noted that this was 18.82% of expenditures. The audit also reported about $53.4 million in capital-asset additions and $211.1 million in outstanding bond debt. The board approved September 2026 expenditures as presented. The treasurer’s report listed $27.8 million in disbursements and an ending general-fund cash and investment balance of $48.2 million. Finance discussion noted that the district is levying less than the full available operating millage and may consider a Headlee override and future sinking-fund or debt-millage options. The superintendent said the district is beginning next year’s budget planning, with a goal of zero use of fund balance; the audit’s outlook cited a projected $8.3 million fund-balance decline for fiscal year 2027.
Facilities updates covered ongoing construction at Sexton, including auditorium improvements and work on walls, infrastructure, and roofing, as well as an update on Sheridan Road. No bids were presented for approval. The board approved a January 7, 2027 recognition ceremony at Eastern High School and authorized the superintendent’s team to coordinate logistics within board spending limits; refreshments were also noted. Following closed session, the board approved the district’s Emergency Operations Plan. Other actions included approval of new hires, while the meeting also included school recognitions, policy committee updates, and student achievement discussion.