The Tewksbury Select Board meeting on November 4, 2026, approved a $3,952.50 Town Counsel invoice for services provided September 16–30 by a 4–0 vote. The Board also unanimously approved National Grid’s jointly owned pole petition for 3 Lumber Lane, allowing a new pole to support power restoration and reliability, subject to four DPW requirements. Annual 2027 renewals for common victualler, entertainment, liquor, retail marijuana, automatic amusement, and class licenses were approved as presented; no renewal amounts were stated.
The Town Manager reported a newly awarded Massachusetts DEP Sustainable Materials Recovery Program municipal grant, with no amount specified, and earmarked funding of $20,000 for Pine Street Cemetery access-road repairs, $50,000 for a bathroom project at Livingston, and $500,000 for public safety at Tewksbury State Hospital. The North Street Bridge remains in design, with a public meeting scheduled for November 12. A resident also asked the Board to consider a data-center moratorium or zoning restrictions; a member said the matter would be discussed with the Town Manager and Board, but no action was taken. The Board agreed to schedule interviews for applicants to the Surveillance Technology Advisory Commission.
🤖
Artificial Intelligence
💻
Information Technology
At a July 14, 2026 listening session, contracting experts and AI companies said the General Services Administration’s revised draft AI acquisition rule improved on earlier versions but still needs clearer definitions and closer alignment with commercial practices. The draft is not a current solicitation or a finalized requirement; its eventual terms could shape how agencies procure AI and how contractors address AI-related risks and delivery approaches in federal engagements.
Contractors should prepare to explain their approaches to AI definitions, data governance, and ethical risk management when engaging with federal buyers.
Companies may benefit from assessing whether their commercial AI delivery practices can be adapted to federal procurement, including flexible delivery approaches.
Because further revisions are anticipated, procurement teams can use the feedback from the session to identify areas that may change in the draft rule.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
Oxnard City Council agenda-item presentation on the Maulhardt Stiles Sub-Neighborhood Plan Project (meeting title dates it 11/17/2026; supplied metadata lists 11/6/2026). The proposal would guide development of an approximately 107-acre East Village site with up to 950 homes, 40,000 square feet of commercial space, and about 12.9 acres of parks. The plan also provides for a new high school site, streets and pedestrian facilities, phased development, and 15% affordable housing, with affordability requirements running for 55 years. The presentation described prior agreements involving the property owners, Oxnard Union High School District, and City concerning the school site and public access to recreational facilities; no procurement award, contract solicitation, or purchasing action was identified.
Staff recommended a public hearing and Council action to certify the Final EIR, approve a General Plan amendment, and take the stated first-reading action on the project’s zoning approval, subject to findings and conditions. The transcript does not record a Council vote or final approval. The EIR identifies significant unavoidable impacts to agricultural resources, air quality, and cultural resources; community feedback included concerns about parking in nearby neighborhoods. No procurement activity was identified.
In September 2026, the U.S. Army awarded AeroVironment a reported $464.8 million Other Transaction Authority agreement to move the Enduring-High Energy Laser (E-HEL) program into production. The program will produce 30-kilowatt LOCUST X3 mobile laser systems for countering unmanned aircraft systems. AeroVironment selected Leonardo DRS as a subcontractor for vehicle integration and power, thermal, and environmental-control work; the subcontract value and delivery schedule have not been disclosed.
The prime award creates supply-chain demand for mobile directed-energy integration, power management, cooling, and environmental-control capabilities.
Companies with relevant subsystem or military-vehicle integration expertise can assess potential teaming and supplier opportunities through AeroVironment; the signals identify no open solicitation or procurement contact.
The Army’s move from prototype development to production indicates a transition toward fielding mobile counter-UAS laser capability, with follow-on production or related requirements possible.
On October 26, 2026, the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) Board approved nearly $119 million in Measure M and Measure R funding for North County and South Bay transportation projects, plus up to $35 million for Long Beach’s Shoreline Drive Realignment Project—more than $150 million in programmed investment overall. The approvals establish potential downstream work in street and school-zone safety, active transportation, mobility hubs, transit access, traffic systems, and roadway improvements; they do not announce solicitations or procurement timelines.
The approved portfolio includes approximately $114.7 million for 23 South Bay projects, $5.18 million for North County active transportation projects, and up to $35 million for Shoreline Drive realignment.
Contractors and suppliers can use the named project areas and improvement types to assess relevant capabilities and potential local teaming needs, while recognizing that funding approval is not a contract award or solicitation.
No bid dates or procurement contacts are identified. Metro’s listed email and phone are for media inquiries, not procurement.
On October 7, 2026, the U.S. Department of Transportation awarded Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) a $25 million INFRA grant for Phase 2 of the SR-71 Gap Closure Project in Pomona, California. The planned work includes HOV and mixed-flow lanes, bridge upgrades to support freight movement, and other corridor improvements. The grant announcement does not identify solicitations, contractors, or a procurement schedule, so it signals a future project pipeline rather than an immediate bid opportunity.
The project’s potential scopes include roadway construction, bridge upgrades, freight-mobility improvements, and related corridor work.
Contractors and suppliers can use the announced project scope to assess relevant capabilities and prepare for Metro’s future procurement announcements; no bid dates or contract awards are specified.
The $25 million grant supports Phase 2, but the announcement does not establish that the grant amount is the total project budget or the value of any future contract.
Los Angeles Metro broke ground on the 6.7-mile East San Fernando Valley Light Rail Transit Project on October 19, 2026. The estimated construction cost is $3.998 billion, including an $893 million U.S. Department of Transportation grant. No specific solicitation or contractor award was announced, so the project represents a major upcoming infrastructure pipeline rather than a currently identified award opportunity.
The project’s scale and federal grant funding make it relevant to firms pursuing transit construction and related project packages.
Companies can use Metro procurement notices to identify upcoming solicitations; the announcement itself does not specify package scopes, awardees, or proposal deadlines.
Potential bidders and subcontractors can evaluate how their capabilities align with light rail construction needs as procurement packages are released.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
💰
Grants & Funding
🛡️
Defense & Military
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
BAE Systems purchased a 130,000-square-foot facility in Weld County, Colorado, to expand production of space-based hardware and sensor systems. Retrofit work and equipment procurement are planned during 2026, with production expected to begin in early 2028. Colorado approved performance-based incentives tied to job and salary requirements, along with support for workforce training; the expansion is projected to add more than 200 employees within 12–24 months and about 600 jobs at full capacity.
BAE Systems plans $5.3 million in equipment purchases; a refundable tax credit is expected to cover 50% of the cost. Suppliers of manufacturing equipment and facility retrofit services may find a potential business opportunity, although the signal does not identify a solicitation or procurement contact.
The state approved a Job Growth Incentive Tax Credit of up to $11,184,835 over eight years and CHIPS refundable tax credits of up to $8.6 million in earned incentives, redeemable at 80% of their value.
Contractors and workforce-training providers serving advanced manufacturing may assess how the facility buildout and hiring plans align with their capabilities. Production is expected to start in early 2028.
🔒
Cybersecurity
🛡️
Defense & Military
💻
Information Technology
On October 8, 2026, Lockheed Martin announced plans to expand its Space division at existing facilities in Douglas and Jefferson counties, Colorado, with up to 1,250 jobs expected over the next four years. The roles include cybersecurity, software engineering, technical, and administrative positions. The announcement did not disclose a project value or identify a government solicitation or contract award, so it signals company growth and potential workforce demand rather than an immediate procurement opportunity.
Aerospace contractors and suppliers serving Lockheed Martin’s Space division can use the announced hiring plans to assess workforce availability and competition for cybersecurity, software engineering, and technical talent in Colorado.
Companies should distinguish this expansion announcement from a contract opportunity: no solicitation, award, contract value, or specific procurement requirement was announced.
Colorado’s economic development office and county-level partners are involved in promoting the expansion, providing relevant context for businesses evaluating the state’s aerospace ecosystem and workforce.
💰
Grants & Funding
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
Colorado, Denver, and the Colorado Housing and Finance Authority (CHFA) are combining four affordable-housing funding application processes into the Housing Hub Colorado Common Application, beginning with the February 2027 funding cycle. Developers seeking Round One Housing Tax Credits and state gap funding should review agency guidance during October–November 2026; Letters of Intent are due December 1, 2026, full applications are due February 1, 2027, and award determinations are targeted for mid-May 2027. The consolidated process changes how applicants prepare and submit requests across the participating funding programs.
Developers and their advisers have 25 days until the December 1, 2026 Letter of Intent deadline and should use the participating agencies’ guidance to prepare submissions through the common process.
Full applications are due February 1, 2027; organizations pursuing both Housing Tax Credits and state gap funding should plan their application preparation around the combined process.
The initiative consolidates four application processes, which may reduce administrative duplication for applicants and creates a shared funding-access pathway for affordable-housing development in Colorado.
💰
Grants & Funding
🛡️
Defense & Military
📚
Education
Colorado’s Opportunity Now Tax Credit is supporting Catalyst Campus for Technology & Innovation’s approximately 15,000-square-foot expansion in Colorado Springs. The expanded facility will train workers in aerospace, defense, and advanced technology and is expected to help train and retain 700 jobs over 15 years. Eligible Colorado businesses may receive tax credits covering up to 50% of qualified costs, with $7.5 million to $15 million available annually. The source article was published October 27, 2026, but lists a July 20, 2026 application deadline, which has passed and should be verified with the Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT). This is a workforce-development and business-incentive opportunity, not a contract award.
Aerospace and defense contractors operating in Colorado may benefit from a larger local pipeline of workers trained in relevant technical fields.
Colorado businesses considering similar workforce-training investments can assess whether their costs fit the tax-credit program; they should confirm current application availability and eligibility with OEDIT because the stated deadline predates the article.
Procurement and workforce planners can account for the facility’s expected contribution to training and retaining 700 jobs over 15 years when evaluating regional workforce capacity.