GSA Appoints Acquisition and Buildings Chiefs

Federal News

GSA Appoints Acquisition and Buildings Chiefs

📋 Contracting Vehicles 🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

On November 4, 2026, the General Services Administration (GSA) appointed Jennifer M. Hill commissioner of the Federal Acquisition Service (FAS) and Mark S. Weiss commissioner of the Public Buildings Service (PBS). Hill’s stated priorities include consolidating procurement, streamlining processes, accelerating purchases, and reducing fraud. FAS manages more than $125 billion in annual business volume across approximately 16,000 companies and serves more than 80 federal agencies. The appointments do not announce a new solicitation or award, but they put new leaders in charge of federal purchasing and real-estate operations as contractors assess possible changes to acquisition channels and PBS priorities.

  • FAS’s priorities could affect government-wide purchasing practices and vehicles, including the ongoing OASIS+ rollout and potential changes involving NITAAC and NASA SEWP VI. Companies using or pursuing these channels should evaluate how consolidation could affect their routes to federal customers.
  • Suppliers serving GSA and its customer agencies can use Hill’s stated focus on faster, consolidated buying and fraud reduction to assess where their offerings support efficient purchasing. GSA has also identified OneGov as a channel through which AI companies can engage with agencies.
  • PBS oversees federal real estate operations; contractors in building maintenance and related services should assess how GSA’s building-utilization and property-disposition priorities may shape future requirements. No specific opportunity or timetable was announced.

I’m excited to execute on the Administrator’s vision for GSA acquisition: buy smarter, move faster, and reduce fraud.

— Jennifer Hill, Commissioner of the Federal Acquisition Service

We welcome additional AI technology companies to engage with GSA and explore opportunities to bring their capabilities to agencies through OneGov as we continue to expand choice, increase competition, and deliver value for taxpayers.

— Laura Stanton, acting Federal Acquisition Service commissioner

At its core, PBS’s mission is to provide and manage efficient, cost-effective and mission-ready workplaces that enable federal agencies to serve the American people.

— Mark Weiss, PBS Commissioner

Agencies

General Services Administration, Federal Acquisition Service, Public Buildings Service, National Institutes of Health IT Acquisition and Assessment Center, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Contracts

, ,

Locations

Sources

Federal News

Space Force Advances Space-Based Sensing

🛡️ Defense & Military

The U.S. Space Force announced a technology-development contract advancing space-based sensing for national security, with AST SpaceMobile supporting STR as the prime contractor. Announced November 5, 2026, the effort draws on commercially developed space technologies; its value, contract number, and performance period were not disclosed. The award signals continued government evaluation of commercial dual-use space capabilities, including sensing and related spacecraft technologies.

  • STR is the prime contractor and AST SpaceMobile is a subcontractor, providing a concrete example of a prime-subcontractor arrangement in the commercial space market.
  • Companies offering space-based sensing, spacecraft, or onboard-processing capabilities can assess how their offerings could fit similar national-security technology-development efforts or future teaming arrangements.
  • Because the contract value, number, and performance period are undisclosed, the announcement does not provide a basis for estimating contract scale or timing of follow-on procurements.

Sources

Federal News

Foster Proposes Open-Source Regulatory Software Study

📜 Policy ✅ Regulatory Compliance 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

On November 5, 2026, Rep. Bill Foster released a discussion draft of the Real-Time Regulatory Study Act. The draft would direct the Federal Reserve Board, in coordination with other financial regulators, to develop, test, and publicly release open-source demonstration software for financial-institution reporting, liquidity management, stress testing, fraud screening, and related regulatory functions. Testing would use synthetic or legally permitted historical data—not live customer accounts—and would not authorize real financial or supervisory actions. The draft provides no appropriation, mandatory adoption, solicitation, or contract award, so it signals a possible future technical contribution opportunity rather than a current procurement.

  • Companies and research organizations with relevant software, data, or regulatory reporting expertise may assess where they could contribute, but the draft does not establish a contracting or submission process.
  • If enacted, the draft targets module publication within one year, a whole-system test within 18 months, and a final report within two years; these are proposed milestones, not current procurement deadlines.
  • Procurement teams should distinguish this potential open-source collaboration from funded acquisition activity: no funding amount or award is identified. Legislative and Federal Reserve developments are the stated sources for determining whether a formal opportunity emerges.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Seeks Water Filtration Manager

💰 Grants & Funding 🌳 Environment 🏥 Healthcare

West Virginia is preparing a competitive Announcement for Funding Availability (AFA) for one organization to manage a $3.2 million household water-filtration initiative in McDowell and Mingo counties. The funding combines $1.2 million in federal support for 1,000 priority households and $2 million in state funding for 4,000 additional homes. The AFA is expected to open this week, with an award anticipated in January 2027 and water testing and filter distribution beginning in February 2027.

  • The selected organization will manage household enrollment, water testing, filtration-equipment distribution, and follow-up across the initiative.
  • Organizations interested in competing can prepare to review the AFA’s eligibility and submission requirements when it is released by the state health and environmental agencies; no submission deadline is provided in the signal.
  • The opportunity is relevant to organizations with capacity to coordinate household outreach and deliver water-testing and filtration services across the two counties.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Supports Pineville Manufacturing Expansion

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

On November 4, 2026, West Virginia announced final financing support through the West Virginia Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council for Oceanetics to construct a 15,000-square-foot manufacturing facility at the John D. Rockefeller Industrial Park in Pineville. Construction is expected to begin shortly, with the facility planned to open in fall 2027 and create 25 jobs. Oceanetics separately plans to invest $1.2 million in specialized equipment; the state financing amount and any procurement or solicitation details were not disclosed.

  • Construction firms and specialized equipment suppliers may find potential business opportunities connected to the facility, but the announcement does not identify an open solicitation, procurement contact, or award process.
  • Suppliers should distinguish Oceanetics’ planned equipment investment from the undisclosed state financing; the announcement does not establish that either represents a government contract.
  • The project’s planned fall 2027 opening provides a schedule reference for firms assessing potential facility-related work, though no bid deadlines are stated.

Sources

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

✅ Regulatory Compliance 🚨 Public Safety 💻 Information Technology

On October 23, 2026, Oklahoma Sen. Mary Boren presented an interim study on the expanding use of Flock automated license plate reader (ALPR) cameras, raising questions about state-law limits, Fourth Amendment privacy, and law-enforcement access to collected data. Testimony asserted that Oklahoma law limits ALPR use to insurance verification; the study discussed data access, sharing, retention, and whether warrants can authorize access. It announced no solicitation, contract, award, or procurement timeline, but possible legislative or legal clarification could affect agencies’ and contractors’ ability to deploy or operate ALPR camera and data services in Oklahoma.

  • Agencies and contractors planning Oklahoma deployments should evaluate how their ALPR services handle permitted uses, data access and sharing, retention, and audit controls against the statutory limits discussed in the study.
  • The study is a policy signal, not a new procurement or confirmed change in law. Organizations should distinguish current obligations from potential future restrictions when scoping services or making deployment plans.
  • Flock and other ALPR providers may be affected if Oklahoma clarifies or limits law-enforcement use; the study provides no contract value, solicitation, or procurement deadline.

Sources

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines Data Center Impacts

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Oklahoma Senate’s Agriculture and Wildlife Committee discussed the economic benefits and community impacts of data centers, including an illustrative estimate that a 300-megawatt facility valued at $2.5 billion could generate $12.5 million–$25 million in annual property tax revenue. No solicitation or contract was announced. For contractors and infrastructure stakeholders, the discussion highlights how project economics may depend on local tax terms as well as electricity, water, and supporting infrastructure needs.

  • Companies evaluating Oklahoma data center projects should assess project-specific tax terms alongside power and water availability and infrastructure requirements.
  • The illustrative tax estimate indicates potential local fiscal benefits, but it is not a guaranteed revenue projection or a procurement commitment.
  • Contractors can use the committee discussion to inform stakeholder engagement and project planning as Oklahoma policy discussions continue.

Sources

State & Local Policy

Louisiana Renews Cybersecurity Emergency Order

🔒 Cybersecurity 📜 Policy 💻 Information Technology 🚨 Public Safety

Louisiana renewed its statewide cybersecurity emergency order from October 30 through November 29, 2026, unless terminated sooner. The order directs state and local entities to coordinate response efforts and protect emergency-related data. It conditionally suspends state procurement, public-bid, and IT-procurement requirements only when strict compliance would prevent, hinder, or delay necessary emergency action.

  • Contractors should confirm applicable purchasing procedures with the responsible agency before relying on the conditional suspension; the order does not establish a blanket waiver of procurement rules.
  • Businesses supporting the response should account for the order’s emergency price restrictions and data-confidentiality requirements.
  • State and local entities are directed to coordinate response activities, which may shape how agencies source cybersecurity response support during the order’s effective period.

Sources

State & Local News

Massachusetts Approves $135.2M Water Loans

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Massachusetts Clean Water Trust approved $135.2 million in low-interest loans on November 4, 2026, for municipal wastewater, drinking-water, and septic projects. The funding supports local water infrastructure work and may lead to project-level procurements for engineering, construction, equipment, and related services; the Trust’s announcement is not itself an RFP.

  • The approved projects include loans of $50 million for Deer Island Treatment Plant Clarifier #2, $50 million for Water Treatment Plant Replacement – Phase 2B, and $20 million for Water Pollution Control Facility Improvements – Phase 2.
  • Firms providing water and wastewater infrastructure services should track recipient communities and authorities for project-level solicitations arising from the funded work.
  • Because the awards are low-interest loans to support municipal projects, businesses should distinguish the Trust’s financing announcement from the local procurement opportunities that may follow.

Sources

Federal News

BTS Publishes Freight Indicators

🚚 Transportation

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Bureau of Transportation Statistics published its November 2026 national supply-chain and freight indicators update on November 4. The monthly data covers port activity, rail and truck movement, freight rates, labor and capacity, and related economic measures. It is not a solicitation or contract announcement, but it gives transportation, logistics, infrastructure, and supply-chain analytics contractors current information for assessing market conditions and planning their business activity.

  • Transportation and logistics firms can use the indicators to inform operating assumptions about freight movement, rates, labor, and capacity.
  • Infrastructure and supply-chain analytics contractors can draw on the monthly national data to support market analysis and planning; the signal identifies no specific contract opportunity or procurement deadline.

Sources

U.S. and Zambia Promote Commercial Projects

International Policy

U.S. and Zambia Promote Commercial Projects

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The United States and Zambia signed a nonbinding MOU on March 30, 2023, to encourage U.S. private-sector participation in strategic commercial projects in Zambia, spanning agriculture, energy, mining, manufacturing, healthcare, digital services, tourism, education, and transportation. It promotes transparent, sustainable procurement and identifies potential U.S. agency support and financing channels, but does not obligate funding, guarantee awards, or commit either government to procurements. The planned five-year period runs to March 2028; commercial terms are negotiated directly between businesses and the Zambian government as applicable.

  • U.S. firms can assess project opportunities in the listed sectors and engage relevant agencies, including USTDA, USAID, and DFC, about the support or financing channels available for specific projects.
  • The MOU is a cooperation framework, not a solicitation or award. Companies should not treat it as guaranteed funding or a procurement commitment; project-specific commercial terms remain to be negotiated.
  • The extracted related activities include a $350 million Millennium Challenge Corporation compact for water, sanitation, and drainage infrastructure, USTDA project-preparation support, and USAID trade and business-enabling activities. These are distinct from any funding obligation created by the MOU.

Sources