State & Local Meeting

Arts Commission 11/03/2026

Watch meeting recording

The City of Webster Groves Arts Commission met on November 3, 2026. The commission discussed pending notification of selected artists, which is awaiting city review of an agreement for the artists to sign. Members coordinated an Achievement in the Arts event with Webster University for December 11 and discussed invitations and RSVP arrangements. The commission also reviewed sculpture-garden plaque designs and voted on a design, though the discussion included a motion to revisit the earlier approval; the transcript does not clearly establish the final design decision. No contract awards, bid approvals, or specific spending amounts were reported.

Members reviewed a 38-page sculpture condition and repair assessment and agreed to follow up with Parks staff about existing maintenance responsibilities and any future repair needs; budget responsibility remains undetermined. The commission also discussed a proposed community fund that would include public art, a recently submitted grant application, youth-led research into a public art display space, and potential private involvement in the Ozark Theater concept. The theater effort is not expected to use city funds. No procurement activity or budget allocation was identified.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

2026-11-04 Administrative Hearing

Cottonwood Heights administrative hearing, held November 5, 2026 (the meeting title identifies it as November 4), considered conditional use permit CUP 26-021, Dan and Linda Mandro’s request to exceed the standard fence-height limit at their property. Staff recommended approval with conditions. The applicants cited privacy concerns and the need to replace an aging wooden fence; a neighboring property owner supported the request, and another neighbor offered to share the cost of fence construction. These were private costs, not a city procurement or spending action.

The hearing officer made a motion to approve the permit, allowing increased fence height along the north, west, and south property lines, with surrounding fence height limited to the height of the newly approved fence and a revised fence-elevation plan required for staff review. The transcript does not capture a vote or final disposition. No public contract, vendor selection, or government procurement activity was identified.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Commissioners Meeting 11.04.26

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 🚨 Public Safety

The Penobscot County Commissioners’ meeting was held November 4, 2026. Commissioners approved the Unorganized Territory services budget, which included a reported $104,268 increase in expenses; the capital reserve remained at $300,000, with funds shifted among categories. The budget discussion cited anticipated 7–10% increases for contracts going out to bid, including plowing and trash pickup, and fuel adjustments. Commissioners also unanimously approved the facilities snow contract for the 2026–27 season, which adds entryway shoveling and verification of salt use; the transcript’s stated contract amount is unclear. A single bid of about $40,000 to wrap the nonoperational chimney was rejected, with commissioners directing staff to seek alternatives. Facilities staff reported five RFPs posted in five weeks, including planned HVAC, electrical, and plumbing trade-partner contracts; additional drain-related RFPs are expected to return for consideration.

Commissioners approved guidelines for allocating Homeland Security Grant Program funds and separately authorized the Emergency Management director to apply under those guidelines. The approach prioritizes regional benefit and documented capability gaps, excludes personnel expenses, and would retain county ownership of grant-funded equipment placed with partner organizations under memoranda of understanding. Commissioners also approved the warrants listed on the agenda. No vendor was selected for the trade-partner RFPs during this meeting.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Budget Meeting - Day 1

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 🚨 Public Safety

The Penobscot County, Maine, Budget Committee’s Day 1 meeting on November 5, 2026, reviewed the proposed 2027 county budget. The county administrator cited rising jail and operating costs, limited reserves, cash-flow pressures and deferred maintenance, including an estimated $7 million in facility needs. The presentation identified approximately $795,000 in jail-related costs and $755,000 in increased capital needs among the budget drivers, and noted about $500,000 in tax-anticipation interest expense. Committee members debated the impact on taxpayers and whether to phase in increases. A motion proposed a taxation amount of $33,534,873, while the budget as presented was discussed at $35,785,967; the transcript’s final roll-call outcome is too garbled to confirm clearly.

The committee considered departmental budgets and capital allocations, including $100,300 for servers and sheriff’s-office computer replacements, building improvements, and a proposed increase in administration’s contracted and professional-services line from $57,000 to $94,000, including a referenced 2.5-year contract. Members also discussed capital planning and possible future changes to the budget committee’s structure and the annual budget process. Department-level motions were taken, but no vendor selection, bid approval, or specific procurement award is clearly identified in the transcript.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Standing Bonding Subcommittee Special Meeting

🔒 Cybersecurity 💻 Information Technology

The City of New Britain Standing Bonding Subcommittee held a special meeting on November 4, 2026. Members approved a motion to refer to the Common Council with a favorable recommendation a resolution authorizing up to $115 million to refund certain outstanding bonds identified by the city’s municipal adviser as potentially eligible for savings due to lower interest rates. Bond counsel described the remaining provisions as typical statements included in such resolutions.

The subcommittee also discussed a proposed $4 million appropriation and bond authorization for information technology improvements. The finance director said the funding would address multiple outdated software and hardware systems, including issues identified during recovery from a cyberattack; unreliable systems have disrupted operations such as payroll and tax collection. A motion for favorable recommendation was introduced and seconded, but the transcript does not record a vote on it. No vendor selections or contracts were identified.

Sources

NIST Seeks Comments on OT Security Guidance

Federal Analysis

NIST Seeks Comments on OT Security Guidance

🔒 Cybersecurity 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology ⚡ Energy & Utilities

NIST’s September 2026 draft revision of SP 800-82 adds dedicated guidance for water and wastewater operational technology (OT), including systems, remote access, managed service providers, and cybersecurity responsibilities. Revision 3, published in 2023, remains the current final guidance; the Revision 4 draft is open for comment through November 30, 2026. The guidance recommends risk-based practices and tailored controls, but does not itself create a standalone mandate. Its discussion also has implications for federal data centers and other critical infrastructure, particularly around building automation and secure IT/OT connectivity.

  • Procurement teams and contractors can assess whether OT security services address utility-specific risks, remote access, managed service provider controls, and operational continuity.
  • Data center providers serving federal agencies or critical infrastructure can evaluate their approaches to secure IT/OT data flows, zero-trust architecture, one-way communications, and containment.
  • Stakeholders with relevant technical input can submit comments by November 30, 2026 (26 days remaining). Contractors should check applicable contract and regulatory terms rather than treating the draft guidance itself as a mandatory requirement.

Sources

GSA and DHS Address Data Exposure Risks

Federal News

GSA and DHS Address Data Exposure Risks

🔒 Cybersecurity ☁️ Cloud Services ✅ Regulatory Compliance 💻 Information Technology

A reported DHS breach exposed records identifying more than 41,000 employees and contractors, including approximately 21,000 ICE agents and 6,600 CBP employees. Separately, a GSA Office of Inspector General audit found 116 files containing controlled unclassified information (CUI)—including personal information, vendor proposals or pricing, and building-security details—were accessible to employees or contractors without a legitimate need to know; GSA said the files were not exposed externally. GSA agreed with the audit’s seven recommendations and reported corrective actions, including tighter access restrictions and adoption of optical character recognition. The signals announce no new solicitation or award. The extracted reporting also cites $7.8 million spent as of September on a third-party data-loss-prevention tool, without identifying a contractor or contract number.

  • Contractors handling GSA information should evaluate whether CUI access is restricted to personnel with a legitimate business need and whether document-sharing and data-loss-prevention controls can identify sensitive content, including in scanned files.
  • The DHS incident highlights risks to personnel and operational information; companies supporting DHS should assess identity controls, sensitive-data access, and breach-response capabilities relevant to their work.
  • The GSA findings point to potential demand for CUI discovery, access-control remediation, cloud data-loss prevention, and information-governance support, but the reporting does not identify a current procurement opportunity.

Sources

Federal News

Newark NJII Achieves CMMC Level 2 Certification

🔒 Cybersecurity ✅ Regulatory Compliance 🛡️ Defense & Military 💻 Information Technology

New Jersey Innovation Institute (NJII) announced on November 4, 2026, that it achieved CMMC Level 2 certification, demonstrating alignment with all 110 cybersecurity requirements in NIST SP 800-171 for protecting controlled unclassified information. The certification may strengthen NJII’s position as a collaborator or service provider for defense-related work involving sensitive information, but the announcement identifies no specific contract, solicitation, or award.

  • Defense contractors seeking collaborators for work involving controlled unclassified information can evaluate NJII as a potential CMMC Level 2-certified participant; the certification does not establish eligibility for every procurement or replace contract-specific requirements.
  • Procurement teams can consider NJII’s certification when assessing prospective collaborators’ cybersecurity qualifications for defense-industrial-base work.
  • The announcement reflects continued emphasis on cybersecurity capability among organizations seeking to participate in defense-related opportunities.

Sources

Federal Event

Oklahoma Air Guard Seeks Structural Repair Technologies

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🛡️ Defense & Military 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

The Oklahoma Air National Guard is holding an industry day at Will Rogers Air National Guard Base in Oklahoma City to conduct market research on commercially available, rapid-deployment solutions for foundation stabilization and structural repair. Areas of interest include settlement remediation, void filling, load-bearing underpinning, and ground improvement for mission-critical facilities and pavement. No contract, award, or quantities have been announced, and the event date is not provided; responses are due December 2, 2026 (28 days remaining). For contractors, this is an opportunity to present relevant capabilities and inform the Guard’s understanding of available solutions before any potential procurement is defined.

  • Companies offering deployable foundation or pavement repair technologies can use the market-research response to describe their capabilities for the identified use cases.
  • Because the Guard has not specified quantities or a contract vehicle, firms should distinguish demonstrated commercial solutions and applicable experience without assuming a defined solicitation or award.
  • The response deadline is December 2, 2026; the industry-day event date is not stated in the signal.

Sources

Federal News

Army Accelerates Military Construction

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 📋 Contracting Vehicles 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 🛡️ Defense & Military

In October 2026, the U.S. Army launched a military construction reform initiative targeting delivery up to 50% faster and at 30% lower cost through greater use of design-build, modular construction, and expanded Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) authority. The signal identifies new federal facility construction and repair opportunities, including $315 million in Coast Guard work at Base Kodiak, Alaska. For contractors, faster delivery and alternative contracting approaches may bring more work but also increase schedule, design, and cost exposure, with fewer standard FAR protections under OTAs.

  • Contractors pursuing military construction and repair work should prepare for accelerated schedules and assess their capacity to manage design-build delivery and associated design and cost risks.
  • Firms considering OTA work should evaluate and negotiate the terms carefully, since these agreements may provide fewer standard FAR protections.
  • Design and construction firms can consider forming design partnerships to support design-build opportunities; the signal specifically identifies $315 million in Coast Guard work at Base Kodiak.

Sources

Federal Analysis

NASA Selects Intuitive Machines for FALCON-RADAR

🚚 Transportation

NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory selected Intuitive Machines on November 3, 2026, to provide the spacecraft platform and system-level integration for the FALCON-RADAR Earth science mission. This is the company’s third NASA Earth science award in six months; the award value and contract number were not disclosed, and launch is planned no earlier than 2029. The selection reinforces NASA’s use of commercial spacecraft and mission-integration capabilities, but the signals identify no open solicitation or procurement contact.

  • The award covers spacecraft platform provision and system-level integration, making commercial spacecraft-bus and mission-integration capabilities directly relevant to this NASA mission.
  • Contractors can assess potential supply-chain or subcontracting roles supporting Intuitive Machines’ delivery; no specific subcontract opportunity is identified in the signals.
  • Because the award value is undisclosed and launch is years away, companies evaluating participation should account for delivery, cash-flow, and contract-definitization risks highlighted in the source coverage.
  • The signals recommend watching for future NASA Earth science procurements; they do not provide a current bid deadline or an immediate open competition.

Sources