State & Local Meeting

Special City Council Meeting - Truth in Taxation Hearing 11-2-2026

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

Watch meeting recording

The City of Evanston’s November 2, 2026, Special City Council Meeting included a Truth in Taxation hearing on the proposed 2026 property tax levy and discussion of the proposed FY2027 budget. Staff said the proposed city levy increase was 10.1% (8.9% when described with the library levy), with a combined city-and-library increase of $5.4 million—estimated at about $180 for a median-value home. The parks and recreation fund levy would rise by $4.8 million, including $3.88 million in new revenue, while debt service would increase by $1.3 million. Residents raised concerns about tax burdens, budget sustainability, park operating deficits, reserves, debt, and alleged problems with motor fuel tax spending; several called for a new auditor or a forensic audit. One speaker also sought confirmation that the $750,000 in capital-plan funding for an ADA-accessible dog beach entrance would remain dedicated to that project. No tax levy or budget action was taken at the hearing, and no contract awards, vendor selections, or procurement approvals were identified.

The council noted that budget and levy ordinances were expected to be introduced the following week, with adoption targeted for November 23. A motion allowing a council member to participate remotely was approved. During discussion, a council member urged better website promotion of future tax hearings; staff also said proposed changes to the real estate transfer tax were under review, including removing rate increases that may require a referendum. The transcript ends during budget discussion, so it does not establish any further decisions or votes.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

November, 2026 City of St. Robert, MO City Council

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

The City of St. Robert, Missouri, City Council meeting on November 5, 2026, approved several procurement and spending items. The council accepted Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield for 2027 employee health insurance, with a 12.63% overall increase (the city’s portion was described as about 11.5%), and renewed MetLife life, disability, dental, and vision coverage with no change in benefits or cost. It approved Willard Asphalt’s $76,325 proposal for additional paving at Route 66 Neon Park (Bill 26-051); a $45,250 gas-powered valve maintenance trailer from Schulte Supply, Inc. (Bill 26-055); and Kya Linebuilders, Inc.’s replacement of 13 utility poles (Bill 26-056), with listed costs totaling approximately $103,000. The council also authorized an ESI Tech Systems/Summer One phone-system agreement: a $178 one-time charge plus $971.20 monthly for 60 months, replacing a service costing about $1,525 per month. These items passed on recorded roll calls with affirmative votes. The city also authorized transfer of a small city-owned parcel to Krose Real Estate LLC for Culver’s planned 2027 renovation; no sale price was stated.

Other actions included adopting updated nuisance-abatement and grass-cutting cost schedules so property owners can be charged for the city’s costs, and amending utility rules to limit resale or redistribution of water, sewer, and electrical services, with specified written-agreement exceptions. The mayor announced a planned transition to paperless utility billing effective April 1, 2027; a possible fee for paper bills and accommodations for residents without internet access remain under discussion. The city is preparing its 2027 budget, including departmental and capital-improvement requests.

Sources

Federal News

Space Force Advances Space-Based Sensing

🛡️ Defense & Military

The U.S. Space Force announced a technology-development contract advancing space-based sensing for national security, with AST SpaceMobile supporting STR as the prime contractor. Announced November 5, 2026, the effort draws on commercially developed space technologies; its value, contract number, and performance period were not disclosed. The award signals continued government evaluation of commercial dual-use space capabilities, including sensing and related spacecraft technologies.

  • STR is the prime contractor and AST SpaceMobile is a subcontractor, providing a concrete example of a prime-subcontractor arrangement in the commercial space market.
  • Companies offering space-based sensing, spacecraft, or onboard-processing capabilities can assess how their offerings could fit similar national-security technology-development efforts or future teaming arrangements.
  • Because the contract value, number, and performance period are undisclosed, the announcement does not provide a basis for estimating contract scale or timing of follow-on procurements.

Sources

Federal News

Foster Proposes Open-Source Regulatory Software Study

📜 Policy ✅ Regulatory Compliance 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

On November 5, 2026, Rep. Bill Foster released a discussion draft of the Real-Time Regulatory Study Act. The draft would direct the Federal Reserve Board, in coordination with other financial regulators, to develop, test, and publicly release open-source demonstration software for financial-institution reporting, liquidity management, stress testing, fraud screening, and related regulatory functions. Testing would use synthetic or legally permitted historical data—not live customer accounts—and would not authorize real financial or supervisory actions. The draft provides no appropriation, mandatory adoption, solicitation, or contract award, so it signals a possible future technical contribution opportunity rather than a current procurement.

  • Companies and research organizations with relevant software, data, or regulatory reporting expertise may assess where they could contribute, but the draft does not establish a contracting or submission process.
  • If enacted, the draft targets module publication within one year, a whole-system test within 18 months, and a final report within two years; these are proposed milestones, not current procurement deadlines.
  • Procurement teams should distinguish this potential open-source collaboration from funded acquisition activity: no funding amount or award is identified. Legislative and Federal Reserve developments are the stated sources for determining whether a formal opportunity emerges.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Seeks Water Filtration Manager

💰 Grants & Funding 🌳 Environment 🏥 Healthcare

West Virginia is preparing a competitive Announcement for Funding Availability (AFA) for one organization to manage a $3.2 million household water-filtration initiative in McDowell and Mingo counties. The funding combines $1.2 million in federal support for 1,000 priority households and $2 million in state funding for 4,000 additional homes. The AFA is expected to open this week, with an award anticipated in January 2027 and water testing and filter distribution beginning in February 2027.

  • The selected organization will manage household enrollment, water testing, filtration-equipment distribution, and follow-up across the initiative.
  • Organizations interested in competing can prepare to review the AFA’s eligibility and submission requirements when it is released by the state health and environmental agencies; no submission deadline is provided in the signal.
  • The opportunity is relevant to organizations with capacity to coordinate household outreach and deliver water-testing and filtration services across the two counties.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Supports Pineville Manufacturing Expansion

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

On November 4, 2026, West Virginia announced final financing support through the West Virginia Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council for Oceanetics to construct a 15,000-square-foot manufacturing facility at the John D. Rockefeller Industrial Park in Pineville. Construction is expected to begin shortly, with the facility planned to open in fall 2027 and create 25 jobs. Oceanetics separately plans to invest $1.2 million in specialized equipment; the state financing amount and any procurement or solicitation details were not disclosed.

  • Construction firms and specialized equipment suppliers may find potential business opportunities connected to the facility, but the announcement does not identify an open solicitation, procurement contact, or award process.
  • Suppliers should distinguish Oceanetics’ planned equipment investment from the undisclosed state financing; the announcement does not establish that either represents a government contract.
  • The project’s planned fall 2027 opening provides a schedule reference for firms assessing potential facility-related work, though no bid deadlines are stated.

Sources

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

✅ Regulatory Compliance 🚨 Public Safety 💻 Information Technology

On October 23, 2026, Oklahoma Sen. Mary Boren presented an interim study on the expanding use of Flock automated license plate reader (ALPR) cameras, raising questions about state-law limits, Fourth Amendment privacy, and law-enforcement access to collected data. Testimony asserted that Oklahoma law limits ALPR use to insurance verification; the study discussed data access, sharing, retention, and whether warrants can authorize access. It announced no solicitation, contract, award, or procurement timeline, but possible legislative or legal clarification could affect agencies’ and contractors’ ability to deploy or operate ALPR camera and data services in Oklahoma.

  • Agencies and contractors planning Oklahoma deployments should evaluate how their ALPR services handle permitted uses, data access and sharing, retention, and audit controls against the statutory limits discussed in the study.
  • The study is a policy signal, not a new procurement or confirmed change in law. Organizations should distinguish current obligations from potential future restrictions when scoping services or making deployment plans.
  • Flock and other ALPR providers may be affected if Oklahoma clarifies or limits law-enforcement use; the study provides no contract value, solicitation, or procurement deadline.

Sources

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines Data Center Impacts

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Oklahoma Senate’s Agriculture and Wildlife Committee discussed the economic benefits and community impacts of data centers, including an illustrative estimate that a 300-megawatt facility valued at $2.5 billion could generate $12.5 million–$25 million in annual property tax revenue. No solicitation or contract was announced. For contractors and infrastructure stakeholders, the discussion highlights how project economics may depend on local tax terms as well as electricity, water, and supporting infrastructure needs.

  • Companies evaluating Oklahoma data center projects should assess project-specific tax terms alongside power and water availability and infrastructure requirements.
  • The illustrative tax estimate indicates potential local fiscal benefits, but it is not a guaranteed revenue projection or a procurement commitment.
  • Contractors can use the committee discussion to inform stakeholder engagement and project planning as Oklahoma policy discussions continue.

Sources

State & Local Policy

Louisiana Renews Cybersecurity Emergency Order

🔒 Cybersecurity 📜 Policy 💻 Information Technology 🚨 Public Safety

Louisiana renewed its statewide cybersecurity emergency order from October 30 through November 29, 2026, unless terminated sooner. The order directs state and local entities to coordinate response efforts and protect emergency-related data. It conditionally suspends state procurement, public-bid, and IT-procurement requirements only when strict compliance would prevent, hinder, or delay necessary emergency action.

  • Contractors should confirm applicable purchasing procedures with the responsible agency before relying on the conditional suspension; the order does not establish a blanket waiver of procurement rules.
  • Businesses supporting the response should account for the order’s emergency price restrictions and data-confidentiality requirements.
  • State and local entities are directed to coordinate response activities, which may shape how agencies source cybersecurity response support during the order’s effective period.

Sources

State & Local News

Massachusetts Approves $135.2M Water Loans

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Massachusetts Clean Water Trust approved $135.2 million in low-interest loans on November 4, 2026, for municipal wastewater, drinking-water, and septic projects. The funding supports local water infrastructure work and may lead to project-level procurements for engineering, construction, equipment, and related services; the Trust’s announcement is not itself an RFP.

  • The approved projects include loans of $50 million for Deer Island Treatment Plant Clarifier #2, $50 million for Water Treatment Plant Replacement – Phase 2B, and $20 million for Water Pollution Control Facility Improvements – Phase 2.
  • Firms providing water and wastewater infrastructure services should track recipient communities and authorities for project-level solicitations arising from the funded work.
  • Because the awards are low-interest loans to support municipal projects, businesses should distinguish the Trust’s financing announcement from the local procurement opportunities that may follow.

Sources

Federal News

BTS Publishes Freight Indicators

🚚 Transportation

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Bureau of Transportation Statistics published its November 2026 national supply-chain and freight indicators update on November 4. The monthly data covers port activity, rail and truck movement, freight rates, labor and capacity, and related economic measures. It is not a solicitation or contract announcement, but it gives transportation, logistics, infrastructure, and supply-chain analytics contractors current information for assessing market conditions and planning their business activity.

  • Transportation and logistics firms can use the indicators to inform operating assumptions about freight movement, rates, labor, and capacity.
  • Infrastructure and supply-chain analytics contractors can draw on the monthly national data to support market analysis and planning; the signal identifies no specific contract opportunity or procurement deadline.

Sources