State & Local Meeting

City Council - 2 Nov 2026

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 🚨 Public Safety

Watch meeting recording

The City Council of Sandy, Oregon, met on Nov. 2, 2026 (the metadata timestamp is Nov. 3 UTC). Council adopted Resolution 2026-24, extending the existing development moratorium because of limited sanitary sewer capacity. It authorized the city manager and municipal judge to implement a traffic safety class program using a neutral provider; the provider and any procurement process remain to be determined. The discussion cited a $50 class cost and a $265 example citation, and staff said the program would modestly increase the city’s net revenue compared with the current approach. Council also authorized the city manager to execute a renewed school resource officer services agreement with Oregon Trail School District. The agreement is intended to recover about 59% of eligible officer personnel and equipment costs and includes a 5% increase in its second year.

Staff updated council on wastewater capital work: about $32 million in projects are complete and approximately $10.8 million are underway. A proposed engineering design and construction-support contract for the wastewater treatment plant’s membrane bioreactor project, involving a Keller and KJ team, is estimated at roughly $10.2 million; its scope and fee were still under negotiation, so it was not awarded or approved at this meeting. Staff expects to return with it in December or January. A separate, smaller wastewater collection-system construction contract is also being negotiated, with approval anticipated in December. Staff additionally reported that current capacity-assurance projects are nearing completion, with remaining work expected to finish in November and December.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Golden Mile Small Area Plan Steering Committee

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 🚚 Transportation

The City of Frederick’s Golden Mile Small Area Plan Steering Committee held its kickoff panel discussion on November 5, 2026, with city department leaders and a Maryland State Highway Administration representative. The discussion focused on pedestrian safety, transit access, redevelopment, affordable housing, and how the updated plan can be implemented and monitored. No contracts were awarded, bids approved, or formal spending votes recorded. Funding constraints were repeatedly identified as a barrier to implementing infrastructure improvements.

Staff described ongoing or planned capital work, including a shared-use path and bus lane along westbound Route 40 that has completed design but lacks construction funding, and conceptual study of pedestrian improvements at an interchange. Parks and Recreation cited Golden Mile-related CIP projects at various stages, including Westside Regional Park, playground and lighting work, and trail improvements. The police chief said the department plans to propose additional red-light cameras at Baughmans Lane and Hillcrest in an upcoming budget; this was not an approval. Participants also discussed grants, developer contributions, possible special taxing districts or business improvement districts, and incentives or zoning changes as potential implementation tools. The plan is expected to guide longer-term redevelopment and be accompanied by public progress reporting; the next steering committee meeting was announced for November 18.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

November 4th 2026 - BOARD OF EDUCATION - Special Workshop

✅ Regulatory Compliance 📚 Education

Waukegan Public Schools Board of Education special workshop, identified in the transcript as November 4, 2026 (meeting metadata lists November 5): administrators and board members reviewed Policy 4,505 on graduate coursework and teacher salary-lane changes in light of state requirements effective July 1, 2026. The current collective bargaining agreement requires the benefit, and the teachers’ contract expires June 30, 2027, with negotiations expected to begin shortly. Administrators reported that 185 teachers received lane changes in FY2026, adding about $628,000 to annual salaries; projected salary costs for those changes total about $1.962 million over three years under stated assumptions.

The workshop developed input for a revised policy, not a final policy decision. Participants generally supported prior approval, at least two years of teaching experience, proficient-or-better evaluations when seeking approval, a B-or-better coursework standard, an annual budget proposal, and a three-year service commitment after a lane change. The board did not settle every detail, including repayment if a teacher leaves early, how concurrent programs affect service commitments, and the review schedule. Administration and legal staff will draft language for a first reading and conduct impact bargaining with the union. No procurement activity was identified. The only formal vote was approval to enter closed session to discuss personnel performance; the motion carried.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

November, 2026 City of St. Robert, MO City Council

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

The City of St. Robert, Missouri, City Council meeting on November 5, 2026, approved several procurement and spending items. The council accepted Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield for 2027 employee health insurance, with a 12.63% overall increase (the city’s portion was described as about 11.5%), and renewed MetLife life, disability, dental, and vision coverage with no change in benefits or cost. It approved Willard Asphalt’s $76,325 proposal for additional paving at Route 66 Neon Park (Bill 26-051); a $45,250 gas-powered valve maintenance trailer from Schulte Supply, Inc. (Bill 26-055); and Kya Linebuilders, Inc.’s replacement of 13 utility poles (Bill 26-056), with listed costs totaling approximately $103,000. The council also authorized an ESI Tech Systems/Summer One phone-system agreement: a $178 one-time charge plus $971.20 monthly for 60 months, replacing a service costing about $1,525 per month. These items passed on recorded roll calls with affirmative votes. The city also authorized transfer of a small city-owned parcel to Krose Real Estate LLC for Culver’s planned 2027 renovation; no sale price was stated.

Other actions included adopting updated nuisance-abatement and grass-cutting cost schedules so property owners can be charged for the city’s costs, and amending utility rules to limit resale or redistribution of water, sewer, and electrical services, with specified written-agreement exceptions. The mayor announced a planned transition to paperless utility billing effective April 1, 2027; a possible fee for paper bills and accommodations for residents without internet access remain under discussion. The city is preparing its 2027 budget, including departmental and capital-improvement requests.

Sources

Federal News

Space Force Advances Space-Based Sensing

🛡️ Defense & Military

The U.S. Space Force announced a technology-development contract advancing space-based sensing for national security, with AST SpaceMobile supporting STR as the prime contractor. Announced November 5, 2026, the effort draws on commercially developed space technologies; its value, contract number, and performance period were not disclosed. The award signals continued government evaluation of commercial dual-use space capabilities, including sensing and related spacecraft technologies.

  • STR is the prime contractor and AST SpaceMobile is a subcontractor, providing a concrete example of a prime-subcontractor arrangement in the commercial space market.
  • Companies offering space-based sensing, spacecraft, or onboard-processing capabilities can assess how their offerings could fit similar national-security technology-development efforts or future teaming arrangements.
  • Because the contract value, number, and performance period are undisclosed, the announcement does not provide a basis for estimating contract scale or timing of follow-on procurements.

Sources

Federal News

Foster Proposes Open-Source Regulatory Software Study

📜 Policy ✅ Regulatory Compliance 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

On November 5, 2026, Rep. Bill Foster released a discussion draft of the Real-Time Regulatory Study Act. The draft would direct the Federal Reserve Board, in coordination with other financial regulators, to develop, test, and publicly release open-source demonstration software for financial-institution reporting, liquidity management, stress testing, fraud screening, and related regulatory functions. Testing would use synthetic or legally permitted historical data—not live customer accounts—and would not authorize real financial or supervisory actions. The draft provides no appropriation, mandatory adoption, solicitation, or contract award, so it signals a possible future technical contribution opportunity rather than a current procurement.

  • Companies and research organizations with relevant software, data, or regulatory reporting expertise may assess where they could contribute, but the draft does not establish a contracting or submission process.
  • If enacted, the draft targets module publication within one year, a whole-system test within 18 months, and a final report within two years; these are proposed milestones, not current procurement deadlines.
  • Procurement teams should distinguish this potential open-source collaboration from funded acquisition activity: no funding amount or award is identified. Legislative and Federal Reserve developments are the stated sources for determining whether a formal opportunity emerges.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Seeks Water Filtration Manager

💰 Grants & Funding 🌳 Environment 🏥 Healthcare

West Virginia is preparing a competitive Announcement for Funding Availability (AFA) for one organization to manage a $3.2 million household water-filtration initiative in McDowell and Mingo counties. The funding combines $1.2 million in federal support for 1,000 priority households and $2 million in state funding for 4,000 additional homes. The AFA is expected to open this week, with an award anticipated in January 2027 and water testing and filter distribution beginning in February 2027.

  • The selected organization will manage household enrollment, water testing, filtration-equipment distribution, and follow-up across the initiative.
  • Organizations interested in competing can prepare to review the AFA’s eligibility and submission requirements when it is released by the state health and environmental agencies; no submission deadline is provided in the signal.
  • The opportunity is relevant to organizations with capacity to coordinate household outreach and deliver water-testing and filtration services across the two counties.

Sources

State & Local News

West Virginia Supports Pineville Manufacturing Expansion

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

On November 4, 2026, West Virginia announced final financing support through the West Virginia Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council for Oceanetics to construct a 15,000-square-foot manufacturing facility at the John D. Rockefeller Industrial Park in Pineville. Construction is expected to begin shortly, with the facility planned to open in fall 2027 and create 25 jobs. Oceanetics separately plans to invest $1.2 million in specialized equipment; the state financing amount and any procurement or solicitation details were not disclosed.

  • Construction firms and specialized equipment suppliers may find potential business opportunities connected to the facility, but the announcement does not identify an open solicitation, procurement contact, or award process.
  • Suppliers should distinguish Oceanetics’ planned equipment investment from the undisclosed state financing; the announcement does not establish that either represents a government contract.
  • The project’s planned fall 2027 opening provides a schedule reference for firms assessing potential facility-related work, though no bid deadlines are stated.

Sources

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines ALPR Use

✅ Regulatory Compliance 🚨 Public Safety 💻 Information Technology

On October 23, 2026, Oklahoma Sen. Mary Boren presented an interim study on the expanding use of Flock automated license plate reader (ALPR) cameras, raising questions about state-law limits, Fourth Amendment privacy, and law-enforcement access to collected data. Testimony asserted that Oklahoma law limits ALPR use to insurance verification; the study discussed data access, sharing, retention, and whether warrants can authorize access. It announced no solicitation, contract, award, or procurement timeline, but possible legislative or legal clarification could affect agencies’ and contractors’ ability to deploy or operate ALPR camera and data services in Oklahoma.

  • Agencies and contractors planning Oklahoma deployments should evaluate how their ALPR services handle permitted uses, data access and sharing, retention, and audit controls against the statutory limits discussed in the study.
  • The study is a policy signal, not a new procurement or confirmed change in law. Organizations should distinguish current obligations from potential future restrictions when scoping services or making deployment plans.
  • Flock and other ALPR providers may be affected if Oklahoma clarifies or limits law-enforcement use; the study provides no contract value, solicitation, or procurement deadline.

Sources

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines Data Center Impacts

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Oklahoma Senate’s Agriculture and Wildlife Committee discussed the economic benefits and community impacts of data centers, including an illustrative estimate that a 300-megawatt facility valued at $2.5 billion could generate $12.5 million–$25 million in annual property tax revenue. No solicitation or contract was announced. For contractors and infrastructure stakeholders, the discussion highlights how project economics may depend on local tax terms as well as electricity, water, and supporting infrastructure needs.

  • Companies evaluating Oklahoma data center projects should assess project-specific tax terms alongside power and water availability and infrastructure requirements.
  • The illustrative tax estimate indicates potential local fiscal benefits, but it is not a guaranteed revenue projection or a procurement commitment.
  • Contractors can use the committee discussion to inform stakeholder engagement and project planning as Oklahoma policy discussions continue.

Sources

State & Local Policy

Louisiana Renews Cybersecurity Emergency Order

🔒 Cybersecurity 📜 Policy 💻 Information Technology 🚨 Public Safety

Louisiana renewed its statewide cybersecurity emergency order from October 30 through November 29, 2026, unless terminated sooner. The order directs state and local entities to coordinate response efforts and protect emergency-related data. It conditionally suspends state procurement, public-bid, and IT-procurement requirements only when strict compliance would prevent, hinder, or delay necessary emergency action.

  • Contractors should confirm applicable purchasing procedures with the responsible agency before relying on the conditional suspension; the order does not establish a blanket waiver of procurement rules.
  • Businesses supporting the response should account for the order’s emergency price restrictions and data-confidentiality requirements.
  • State and local entities are directed to coordinate response activities, which may shape how agencies source cybersecurity response support during the order’s effective period.

Sources