State & Local Meeting

11-02-26 Board of Commissioners Meeting

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

Watch meeting recording

The Town of Fuquay-Varina Board of Commissioners met on November 2, 2026. The board approved a $9,823,729 guaranteed maximum price (GMP) with Edifice Construction for Fleming Loop Park, covering conversion of seven fields to synthetic turf and construction of six pickleball courts. The project is funded by $6.25 million in the FY 2027 budget and a $4.25 million Raleigh-Wake County hospitality tax grant; the GMP includes $400,000 in allowances and a 2% contingency. The board also approved Budget Amendment BA 27-06 and a $900,000 purchase of 120 Raleigh Street to expand the Arts Center. For Hilltop Needmore Town Park, commissioners approved an amended, lower-impact master plan and design/construction authorization, redirecting $5 million budgeted for Kennebec Road Town Park to the revised Hilltop scope and reassigning $10 million previously earmarked for Hilltop athletic fields and a memorial to land acquisition and design for a future athletic park. The motion also preserved the town’s ability to build a public parking lot on its separate Johnson Pond Road parcel.

The board approved Budget Amendment BA 27-08 and an $8 million purchase of 84.83 acres on Panther Lake Road for future active recreation; the town expects to initially use general-fund balance and later reimburse it through limited-obligation bonds. LKC Engineering is conducting due diligence for $49,000. Other procurement and capital updates included the Old Honeycutt Road/NC 55 intersection project being out to bid, with bids due November 16 and a contract award expected to come before the board in December; Sunset Lake Road Phase 2 had received federal construction-funding authorization, with bid documents being finalized. The board also received an informational presentation on the police department’s Flock ALPR program, which costs about $40,000 annually; no action was taken on that program. A zoning amendment for 602 and 606 South Main Street was approved, while another zoning hearing was tabled at the petitioner’s request.

Sources

Federal Event

Oklahoma Air Guard Seeks Structural Repair Technologies

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🛡️ Defense & Military 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

The Oklahoma Air National Guard is holding an industry day at Will Rogers Air National Guard Base in Oklahoma City to conduct market research on commercially available, rapid-deployment solutions for foundation stabilization and structural repair. Areas of interest include settlement remediation, void filling, load-bearing underpinning, and ground improvement for mission-critical facilities and pavement. No contract, award, or quantities have been announced, and the event date is not provided; responses are due December 2, 2026 (28 days remaining). For contractors, this is an opportunity to present relevant capabilities and inform the Guard’s understanding of available solutions before any potential procurement is defined.

  • Companies offering deployable foundation or pavement repair technologies can use the market-research response to describe their capabilities for the identified use cases.
  • Because the Guard has not specified quantities or a contract vehicle, firms should distinguish demonstrated commercial solutions and applicable experience without assuming a defined solicitation or award.
  • The response deadline is December 2, 2026; the industry-day event date is not stated in the signal.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Conservation Commission

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🌳 Environment 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

Hopkinton Conservation Commission open meeting (HCAM), November 3, 2026. The commission approved the Town DPW’s request for geotechnical borings in the existing paved roadway on West Elm Street, as preliminary design work for a future culvert replacement. The work was described as same-day and not expected to affect resource areas. Members also supported handling similar borings administratively with conservation staff in the future. No contract awards, vendor selections, spending approvals, or budget allocations were identified.

The commission approved removal of two hazardous trees from commission-owned property, issued a certificate of compliance for 234 Hayden Rowe, and addressed violations at 30 West Main Street. For that site, it voted to close the existing enforcement order and issue a new one requiring an updated planting plan, continued construction monitoring, and staff/consultant review. A separate request to remove a large leaning tree at the property was continued to November 24 pending a mitigation plan. Other hearings and a wetlands regulations discussion were continued to later dates; no other procurement activity was identified.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Mandan City Commission 2026-11-03

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Mandan City Commission meeting, titled November 3, 2026 (metadata lists November 4), included construction updates on highway interchange work and the first-year reconstruction project. The commission approved an amendment to the water supply contract with Missouri West Water System, clarifying that approval allows relocation of the master meter only and does not approve engineering designs for connection to the city’s 30-inch transmission line. No public hearings or bids were scheduled.

The commission approved a $15,000 Growth Fund pilot to provide short-term rental assistance to businesses occupying vacant downtown storefronts during the Holiday Lights on Main season. Assistance is 50% of monthly rent, capped at $7 per square foot per month, with funds available first-come, first-served. Commissioners also considered Task Order 13 with Moore Engineering for design services for Mandan Highway 1806 pedestrian trail improvements; a motion to approve was made and seconded, but the transcript does not include the vote. The agenda also included a zoning change for the Octavia addition; no other procurement activity was identified.

Sources

XTEND Delivers Asia-Pacific Defense Systems

International News

XTEND Delivers Asia-Pacific Defense Systems

🤖 Artificial Intelligence 🛡️ Defense & Military

XTEND AI Robotics, through its Asia-Pacific subsidiary Performance Rotors Pte Ltd, completed delivery in September 2026 under an approximately $2.8 million defense contract. The delivery comprised 88 unmanned aerial systems, 84 ground control stations, and integrated logistics support, produced through XTEND’s regional XFAB manufacturing network. The customer and country were not identified, and the contract is complete rather than an active solicitation.

  • The delivery provides procurement teams a concrete example of a regional production model combining unmanned systems, ground control stations, and logistics support in one defense contract.
  • Contractors pursuing similar work can evaluate whether local or regional manufacturing capacity and integrated sustainment offerings support their market strategy; the signals do not identify a follow-on opportunity or solicitation.
  • Because the customer, country, contract number, and procurement pathway are undisclosed, the award offers limited detail for identifying specific buyers or replicating the acquisition.

Sources

Oklahoma Senate Examines Data Center Development

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Examines Data Center Development

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology ⚡ Energy & Utilities 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

On October 28, 2026, the Oklahoma Senate Agriculture and Wildlife Committee discussed the economic, community, infrastructure, and national-security effects of data center development. The discussion cited an illustrative 300-megawatt facility valued at $2.5 billion, with estimated annual property-tax revenue of $12.5 million to $25 million. No solicitation, contract award, or funded procurement was announced; the hearing is an early policy and market signal for developers and contractors considering Oklahoma projects.

  • The discussion weighed potential investment, jobs, and tax revenue against concerns about water use, electricity costs, property values, transparency, and community impacts.
  • Developers and infrastructure service providers can use these issues to assess potential project costs and prepare to address local infrastructure and community-benefit terms in future proposals or agreements.
  • The hearing points to possible state and municipal policy attention, but does not establish a procurement schedule or a specific contracting opportunity.

Sources

State & Local News

Oklahoma Senate Reviews Flock Camera Use

✅ Regulatory Compliance 🚨 Public Safety

On October 23, 2026, the Oklahoma Senate presented an interim study examining legal, constitutional, and privacy issues in the expanding use of Flock automated license plate reader (ALPR) cameras. Testimony raised whether state law limits ALPR use to insurance verification and plate-pay systems, and questioned how data access, sharing, retention, and warrant access should be handled. The study announced no procurement, contract, or solicitation, but potential clarification or restrictions could affect agencies’ deployment plans and suppliers’ addressable market in Oklahoma.

  • Agencies and contractors planning Oklahoma ALPR deployments should account for the questions raised about permitted uses, information sharing, retention, and warrant access; the study does not establish new requirements.
  • Flock is identified as the ALPR technology provider, but the signals describe no award or active procurement opportunity.
  • The study indicates that legislative or legal clarification could affect future law-enforcement system requirements and deployment assumptions. The source signals advise monitoring for that clarification.

Sources

State & Local News

North Dakota Expands Dakota BOT to ND.gov

🤖 Artificial Intelligence 💻 Information Technology

North Dakota’s Department of Commerce and North Dakota Information Technology (NDIT) expanded the Dakota BOT AI chatbot to ND.gov, following its May 2026 launch on the Commerce website. The announcement describes an operational public-service deployment, not a solicitation or contract award, so it creates no current procurement opportunity or stated contract value.

  • The expansion demonstrates state-level adoption of AI for connecting citizens, businesses, and visitors with public-service information.
  • Technology contractors supporting government may find future opportunities in chatbot development, website integration, and ongoing support if North Dakota expands the service to additional state websites.
  • Because no solicitation, vendor, or procurement timeline is identified, businesses should treat this as a market signal rather than an active bid opportunity.

Sources

Federal News

USDA Awards Feral Swine Control Grants

💰 Grants & Funding 🌳 Environment

On November 3, 2026, USDA announced $51.9 million in grant-agreement awards for 29 feral swine control projects across 13 states under its Feral Swine Eradication and Control Pilot Program. Louisiana received $3 million for work spanning approximately 16.6 million acres across 27 parishes, with NRCS and APHIS coordinating with the Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry. The awards are allocated, not open solicitations; contractors’ potential entry points are support services for the selected partners, rather than bids for the announced grants.

  • The Louisiana project includes surveillance, trapping, landowner education and assistance, damage assessment, and removal operations. Companies with relevant field capabilities can approach the selected state partner about supporting this work.
  • The $51.9 million award round is part of a broader $105 million pilot program. Procurement planning should distinguish these grant-funded partner projects from direct federal contract opportunities.
  • NRCS grant agreements and coordination with APHIS shape the delivery model. Contractors should tailor any proposed support to the selected partners’ project activities and operating areas.

Sources

Federal Policy

Federal Agencies Disclose AI Use Cases

🤖 Artificial Intelligence 💻 Information Technology

The U.S. Department of Commerce describes federal agencies’ obligations to inventory and publicly share non-classified, non-sensitive current and planned artificial intelligence use cases, using the term “Super Intelligence” pursuant to Executive Order 14434. The webpage announces no new appropriation, contract award, or solicitation. For contractors, it signals continued agency attention to AI use-case transparency and points to potential testing and collaborative research opportunities through NIST’s Center for Advancing Innovation and Standards for Super Intelligence (CAISSI).

  • Contractors supporting agency AI initiatives should account for the inventory and public-sharing obligations, including the stated limits for classified and sensitive use cases.
  • Organizations interested in AI testing or collaborative research can explore opportunities associated with NIST’s CAISSI; the signal does not identify a specific solicitation or deadline.
  • The announcement provides no new funding or contract action, so it is a policy and market-context development rather than an immediate bid opportunity.

Sources

U.S. and Zambia Promote Commercial Projects

International Policy

U.S. and Zambia Promote Commercial Projects

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🌐 Digital Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The United States and Zambia signed a nonbinding MOU on March 30, 2023, to promote U.S. private-sector participation in Zambian projects spanning agriculture, energy, mining, manufacturing, healthcare, digital services, tourism, education, and transportation. It encourages transparent, sustainable procurement and identifies potential U.S. agency support and financing channels, but creates no funding obligation, award guarantee, or procurement commitment; companies and the Zambian government must negotiate commercial terms directly. The MOU’s intended five-year activity period runs to approximately March 2028.

  • The extracted programs include USTDA project-preparation support, USAID’s Business Enabling Project and Trade Boost activity, and a $350 million Millennium Challenge Corporation compact for water, sanitation, and drainage. These are distinct programs, not funding commitments made by the MOU.
  • U.S. firms can use the MOU as a framework for exploring projects in Zambia, but should treat each opportunity as subject to separate financing, procurement, and commercial negotiations.
  • Businesses developing proposals can assess whether USTDA, USAID, or DFC support may be relevant to their project; the MOU itself does not guarantee agency assistance or contract awards.

Sources