State & Local Meeting

October 27, 2026 Act 34 Hearing

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 📚 Education 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

Watch meeting recording

The Chambersburg Area School District held an Act 34 public hearing on October 27, 2026, regarding the proposed new Chambersburg Area Middle School at 1151 East McKinley Street. The project would replace and demolish the existing 175,000-square-foot South middle school with an approximately 268,800-square-foot facility for all district seventh- and eighth-grade students. Presenters described the educational rationale, building design, security features, academic and community spaces, and site improvements, including athletic facilities, parking, and separated bus, van, and car drop-off areas. RLPS Architects presented the design; the district’s financial adviser, PFM, discussed financing.

PFM identified general obligation bonds as the least costly financing alternative and said state reimbursement is not anticipated because a state moratorium remains in place. The presentation estimated annual indirect project costs of approximately $1,785,000, equivalent to 2.25 mills, and a total millage-equivalent impact of 14.17 mills, including 11.92 mills associated with financing. No contract award, vendor selection, or procurement vote occurred. One attendee expressed support; written comments may be submitted through November 26, 2026. The hearing concluded with a motion and second to adjourn.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

County Commissioners Live Stream

🚨 Public Safety

The County Commissioners meeting on October 29, 2026, approved the consent agenda and appointed Jacob (Jake) Stoner, the assistant director of emergency services, as the county’s emergency management coordinator. The appointment passed by motion; commissioners praised Stoner’s emergency-services experience and training. The consent agenda also passed, but its contents were not specified in the transcript. No contracts, bids, vendor selections, or other procurement actions were identified.

The public defender presented the Anchor Program, a voluntary pre-sentencing support program operated jointly with the county jail and courts to connect indigent participants with services such as housing, health care, employment assistance, and transportation. It began accepting referrals around March 1 and had 18 participants at the time of the meeting. The program’s case manager is funded through indigent defense grant money. No new funding allocation or spending decision was discussed.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

LCUSD Governing Board Special Joint Meeting with La Cañada City Council: October 27th @ 6pm

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 💼 Professional Services

The La Cañada Flintridge City Council and La Cañada Unified School District Governing Board held a special joint meeting on October 27, 2026. The bodies amended and adopted a resolution revising the Cornish Corridor Joint Working Group structure: five at-large community members are to be appointed by the group’s voting members, and up to two honorary, non-voting positions may be appointed separately by the city mayor and LCUSD board president. The group also reported that it had received 31 applications for community membership and was reviewing candidates, with public interviews planned for November 13.

The main procurement item was approval to release an RFP for a phased Cornish Corridor feasibility study and implementation services. Phase one will assess feasibility, business considerations, legal and land-use constraints, property conditions, and potential rental revenue; later phases may cover concepts, design, and implementation. The RFP is not a budgeted item, and proposals will return for evaluation before any contract award; the agencies may reject bids, and bidders need not propose on every phase. The city will lead the solicitation through PlanetBids, with amendments addressing indemnification and insurance protections and clarifying that the study should consider residents and other community users. The motion to release the RFP passed. No contract award or spending amount was approved at this meeting.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Oct. 27, 2026 -- Board of Education Meeting

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 📚 Education 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

The School District of Janesville Board of Education held its 2026–27 budget hearing and regular meeting on October 27, 2026 (the meeting metadata is dated October 28). No public comments were offered at the budget hearing. The board unanimously adopted the district budget and approved a total 2026–27 tax levy of $58,838,900, including $42,545,675 for Fund 10, $14,470,823 for Fund 39, and $200,000 for Fund 80; the Fund 38 amount was garbled in the transcript. The presentation described the levy as an increase of about $817,000, or 1.41%, and reviewed state aid, declining enrollment, special education costs, and the district’s operating referendum funding. The board also approved a tax and revenue anticipation promissory note of up to $6 million to address seasonal cash-flow needs, including payroll, while state aid payments arrive after the fiscal year ends. No contract awards, vendor selections, or purchasing approvals were identified.

The finance committee update noted that Franklin Middle School and the adjacent fire-station property are part of one parcel; a certified survey map and an amendment to the federal-interest notice are needed before the district can proceed with future plans for the site. The committee also reported that FEMA’s emergency protective measures application had received a response, while mitigation and prevention components remained in process. These items were status updates, not approvals of construction or other procurement.

Sources

NIST Sets Federal Post-Quantum Migration Roadmap

Federal News

NIST Sets Federal Post-Quantum Migration Roadmap

🔒 Cybersecurity ✅ Regulatory Compliance 💻 Information Technology

On October 27, 2026, NIST finalized NISTIR 8547, a roadmap for moving federal systems from quantum-vulnerable cryptography to post-quantum cryptography (PQC). The roadmap sets December 31, 2030, for PQC key establishment and December 31, 2031, for digital signatures on high-value assets and high-impact systems, with broader migration across federal systems targeted for completion by 2035. Separately, a GAO review found that none of the 24 CFO Act agencies had fully completed the three preparedness practices it assessed: cryptographic inventories, transition-funding identification, and testing plans. The guidance creates potential demand for contractor support, but the signals identify no specific solicitation, contract value, or procurement timeline.

  • Why this matters: Contractors supporting federal systems should inventory cryptographic use and supply-chain dependencies, prioritize sensitive and long-lived data, and plan migration and testing capabilities aligned with the agency milestones.
  • Agencies’ reported preparation gaps point to potential work in system inventories, risk assessment, funding analysis, testing, integration, and PQC implementation; these are prospective needs, not announced contract opportunities.
  • The accelerated 2030 and 2031 milestones apply to prioritized federal systems, not as blanket deadlines for private organizations. Technology providers should coordinate product roadmaps with federal customers; the signals also cite TLS 1.3 support by January 2, 2030, as a planning consideration.

Sources

Federal Event

National Guard Seeks Selfridge F-15EX Hangar Input

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 📋 Contracting Vehicles 🛡️ Defense & Military 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

The National Guard Bureau and Michigan USPFO are conducting market research for an estimated $150 million–$200 million eight-bay F-15EX maintenance hangar complex at Selfridge Air National Guard Base. The project would support the 127th Wing’s 21 aircraft and includes aircraft maintenance, corrosion-control and fuel-cell facilities, munitions and training hangars, shops and support spaces, demolition and replacement parking, and utility and infrastructure upgrades. Responses are due December 1, 2026 (34 days remaining); an industry day is anticipated in early to mid-December. The contemplated acquisition is a fixed-price Other Transaction Agreement under 10 U.S.C. 2808a.

  • Construction and aviation-facility firms can provide market-research input by the December 1 deadline; this is an opportunity to inform planning, not a stated request for proposals.
  • Companies should assess their experience and capabilities against the project’s combined hangar, support-space, demolition, parking, and utility scope when preparing a response.
  • The anticipated December industry day offers a further opportunity for industry engagement as the Guard develops this major Michigan facility project.

Sources

Federal Event

Air Force Seeks GASNTi2b2 Industry Input

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 🛡️ Defense & Military 💻 Information Technology

The U.S. Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center’s Nuclear Networks Division will host an industry day on December 9, 2026, for the GASNTi2b2 strategic ground-based high-frequency communications capability. The event will present a preliminary capability overview and gather industry input for market research and acquisition planning; it is not a solicitation. Interested organizations must register with the designated point of contact by November 24, 2026, which is 27 days from October 28, 2026.

  • Companies interested in the system can use the industry day to understand the preliminary capability and provide feedback that may inform acquisition planning.
  • Organizations that want to participate must register by November 24; the announcement provides no venue, contract value, vendor information, or contact details in the supplied signals.
  • Because the event is market research rather than a solicitation, participation does not constitute a proposal submission or indicate an award.

Sources

State & Local News

Carahsoft Expands Synology SLED Access

🔒 Cybersecurity 📋 Contracting Vehicles 💻 Information Technology

Synology America and Carahsoft established a channel agreement making Synology storage, backup, data-protection, and surveillance solutions available to state, local, and education buyers through cooperative purchasing contracts, including TIPS #220105, OMNIA Partners #R240303, E&I Cooperative Services, and The Quilt. The arrangement offers agencies and reseller partners an established purchasing route; it does not announce a new competitive solicitation or contract value. A hands-on procurement and product event is scheduled for December 7, 2026, at the Carahsoft Conference & Collaboration Center in Reston, Virginia.

  • Agencies and resellers can evaluate whether the listed cooperative vehicles fit their purchasing needs for storage, backup, data protection, or surveillance solutions.
  • The December 7 event provides an opportunity to review the products and procurement options in person; inquiries about Synology solutions can be directed to Synology@carahsoft.com or (888) 662-2724.
  • Because no new solicitation or contract value is announced, this development is primarily a channel and purchasing-access opportunity rather than a new standalone competition.

Sources

International News

UK HMRC Introduces AI Trade Classification

🤖 Artificial Intelligence 💻 Information Technology

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has introduced AI-enabled commodity classification in its Online Trade Tariff service, working with digital transformation consultancy Transform. The tool lets businesses search for customs codes using everyday language. The announcement describes an implemented service, not a new solicitation or a disclosed contract award; it provides no contract value, number, or procurement contact details.

  • The deployment is a concrete example of government use of AI to help businesses navigate customs classification, relevant to contractors offering applied AI and fragmented-data integration capabilities.
  • Transform is identified as supporting the implementation, but the announcement does not specify its contract or delivery role beyond that involvement.
  • Procurement teams and suppliers should treat this as market intelligence about an implemented service, not as an open bidding opportunity; no procurement timeline or future solicitation is provided.

Sources

Federal Event

Louisiana Air Guard Previews Belle Chasse Construction IDIQ

📋 Contracting Vehicles 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

The Louisiana Air National Guard’s 159th Fighter Wing plans an in-person industry day on November 12, 2026, at NAS JRB New Orleans in Belle Chasse to discuss a potential multiple-award construction IDIQ. The announcement invites general contractors, small businesses, subcontractors, design-build firms, and construction service providers to hear about anticipated needs and engage with government representatives, but does not identify project scopes, contract value, or a commitment to issue a solicitation. The RSVP deadline is listed as November 9, 2026, while a separate response deadline field lists November 12, 2027; interested firms should verify the correct deadline with the event organizer before relying on it.

  • The industry day is an opportunity for construction firms to learn about anticipated requirements and connect with the government before any solicitation is confirmed.
  • Interested firms should plan for the November 12, 2026, event and confirm RSVP instructions and the conflicting deadline; no contact details are provided in the signal.
  • Because no scope, value, or solicitation commitment is available, firms should treat this as early market research rather than a confirmed contract opportunity.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Salisbury City Council Legislative And Open Work Sessions 10 26 2026

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 💻 Information Technology

Salisbury City Council legislative session and work session, held October 26, 2026 (as identified in the meeting title; metadata lists October 28). The council approved two cooperative-purchase awards in a 4–1 vote: Ferguson will supply pipe and fittings for Canal Woods and Scenic Drive projects for $244,632.50 through Omnia Partners, and First Due will provide fire marshal software for $25,412.50 per year, with possible annual renewals, through Sourcewell. Members discussed whether city utility staff had the capacity to perform the related work; the material purchase was approved, with installation arrangements still to be determined. The council also approved declaring a 2001 American LaFrance rescue truck surplus, with an estimated resale value of about $80,000 and plans to seek a specialized auction; seven holsters are to be donated to a local criminal-justice training program.

The council approved a second-reading budget amendment appropriating $950,000 in unallocated multi-year PFAS lawsuit funds to acquire the Pemberton property for water and sewer facility expansion, and gave first reading to the companion property-purchase ordinance. The purchase is contingent on environmental due diligence; the Phase I report was pending final information. A separate first-reading ordinance accepted a $6,500 Maryland Department of Natural Resources grant for the Fire Department. The council discussed, but deferred, a proposed process for filling council vacancies and the membership and scope of a data-center task force. The existing data-center moratorium remains in effect, and no data-center approval was reported; staff and council discussed further review and public input. No other contract awards were identified.

Sources