The Carroll County Board of Commissioners’ general session on October 26, 2026, approved the bills and appropriation, though the transcript’s stated total for the bills is unclear. The board approved a three-year annual maintenance lock-in agreement with Harris Computer Corporation for the auditor’s office; the discussion cited $2,000 annually, but the transcript does not clearly resolve the rate-option details. It also approved an OPWC disbursement request of $4,129.60 as the second and final payment for Berry Road resurfacing. A rolling permit supported by a $50,000 bond was approved, and a contract was sent to the prosecutor for review.
The commissioners approved a cost-recovery approach for IT services provided to non-general-fund departments: hourly services, equipment, and subscriptions are to be charged back at cost, with separate revenue lines, and the IT director was authorized to develop a policy. The board also discussed ongoing negotiations with Frontier for a possible five-year 911 carrier renewal, including a proposed waiver of a penalty fee; written terms were pending, and a previously discussed Spectrum phone-system option remained contingent on the contract timing and paperwork. Other business included a report on the regional ARTIP project and its prospective funding and right-of-way arrangements; final approval was expected in December, with a future appointment to a regional CIC board still to come.
Raleigh County Schools Board meeting and Local School Improvement Council (LSIC) session, dated October 27, 2026 (the meeting metadata records October 28 UTC). The board approved a memorandum of understanding with Mountain State Educational Services Cooperative for grant-consulting services related to a DERA project to replace buses. Eight buses meet the program’s eligibility criteria, allowing five to qualify for replacement; the district said the vehicles were already slated for replacement and that grant funding would pay to remove them from service rather than selling them through its usual online auction process. The federal grant allows replacements through 2029. The board also approved 18 additional Carnegie Learning on-site coaching days at Stratton Elementary, funded with federal school-improvement dollars. No contract values were stated. A local vendor, School Bus Solutions, raised concerns during public comment about a purchasing restriction that the speaker said had continued for 175 days without explanation or resolution; the transcript records no board action on the complaint.
School representatives identified potential future spending needs, but no funding or purchase approvals were made for them during the meeting. Requests included Shady Spring High School field lights and press-box improvements, Shady Spring Middle School gym bleachers, a Promethean board and restroom improvements at Gent Elementary, and parking, accessible basketball rims, and classroom desks and chairs at Daniels Elementary. In response to the Daniels student representative’s request for desks and chairs, a board member asked the principal to provide quantities by classroom so the board could assess the need. The board also approved naming Shady Spring High School’s baseball field for Coach David Shaw.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
💼
Professional Services
The City of Seward City Council held a budget work session on October 27, 2026, to review the proposed FY 2027–28 departmental budgets. Procurement and spending items included a proposed $20,000 per year for emergency-preparedness contracted services in FY 2027 and FY 2028, including tabletop exercises and possible consultant support. The city reported about $432,000 in general-fund software and SaaS subscriptions and nearly $1 million in contracted services across departments. The council had approved a fleet assessment and replacement plan with Mercury Associates in August; after the firm’s October site work, the city proposed no motor-pool vehicle or equipment purchases in the FY 2027–28 budget pending the assessment’s recommendations. Fire hoses for two engines are planned through the capital improvement plan, and the Fire Department expects to issue an RFP for inspection, testing, and maintenance of fire alarms and sprinkler systems. The city’s audit-firm contract ends in 2027, with an RFP planned for early next year; any resulting cost adjustment would affect the FY 2028 budget. No final vote on the proposed budget was taken at this session.
Other budget topics included a proposed temporary records technician to support document scanning and a Laserfiche project, a water and wastewater rate study underway, and discussion of seasonal sales-tax and property-tax options, including possible exemptions under state House Bill 13. The city also noted that its water-tank project with T Bailey was nearing completion. A previously sponsored resolution allocating $12,000 for student-exchange airfare was already incorporated into the budget. The council’s budget and tax discussions were preliminary, with hearings and final budget action scheduled for later meetings.
🚑
Emergency Response
🏥
Healthcare
🛡️
Defense & Military
On October 28, 2026, Public Services and Procurement Canada awarded SIGA Technologies a follow-on contract to supply oral TPOXX (tecovirimat) to Canada’s Department of National Defence through March 31, 2031. The contract provides for purchases of up to approximately $15 million, including approximately $9 million in firm commitments over the first three years and approximately $6 million subject to options. The award continues Canadian procurement of a smallpox medical countermeasure and reinforces SIGA’s position as an incumbent supplier.
Procurement teams and suppliers should distinguish the committed portion from the optional purchases when assessing the contract’s scale and demand certainty.
For industry stakeholders, the follow-on award signals continued Canadian demand for smallpox countermeasures and an established supplier relationship; firms should factor that incumbent position into market assessments for related supply opportunities.
The purchasing arrangement runs through March 31, 2031, giving suppliers a defined timeframe for evaluating potential supporting capabilities and supply-chain needs.
🚑
Emergency Response
🚚
Transportation
🚨
Public Safety
FEMA will hold a virtual industry day on November 17, 2026, to engage industry partners on transportation supporting disaster survivor-feeding missions in Alaska through the Disaster Overseas Transportation Support (DOTS) Alaska initiative, formerly known as Resource and Capability Transportation Support during Disasters (RCTSD). The event is an industry-engagement opportunity, not a solicitation or contract award; no specific requirements, vendors, or procurement schedule have been announced.
Key date: The industry day is scheduled for November 17, 2026—20 days from October 28, 2026.
Transportation providers and other interested contractors can use the event to engage with FEMA about the mission area, but should not treat it as an active solicitation or assume a contract timeline or requirements that have not been provided.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
⚡
Energy & Utilities
The Bulloch County Data Center Committee’s October 27, 2026 meeting focused on organizing the committee and defining its work. Members elected Dave Bennett as chair and Glenn Womack as vice chair, set meetings for 5:30 p.m., and reviewed ethics, conflicts of interest, open-meeting and public-records requirements. The committee was tasked with reviewing the county’s draft data center zoning resolution and related policies and producing actionable recommendations. Topics identified include site selection, power and water capacity, wastewater infrastructure, setbacks, noise, backup generation, traffic, stormwater, emergency services, decommissioning, enforcement, and infrastructure costs and funding.
No contracts, bids, vendor selections, or procurement awards were discussed or approved. County staff offered to help arrange subject-matter experts and said the county would handle related costs, including travel, but no specific expenditure or amount was approved. The commission chair said he intended to present a 180-day moratorium extension for consideration; the committee did not vote on that extension. Its recommendations may shape future requirements and opportunities for data center developers, particularly around utility connections and infrastructure costs.
🌐
Digital Infrastructure
🚨
Public Safety
💻
Information Technology
Port St. Lucie Police Department’s Flock Safety automatic license plate reader network grew from eight cameras in 2022 to a peak of 53, while the contract increased from $22,000 in its first year to $470,406 by 2025. The department limited camera use in September, putting the network’s expansion, spending, and usage governance under greater scrutiny and signaling potential considerations for future public-safety technology procurements.
The reported contract value reached $470,406 by 2025, a substantial increase from its first-year cost of $22,000.
Public-safety agencies evaluating similar systems may face closer scrutiny of deployment scale, spending growth, and how camera use is governed.
Contractors pursuing these opportunities should clearly explain system costs as deployments scale and address usage governance in their proposals.
The City of Bangor Advisory Committee on Homelessness met on October 28, 2026. City staff reported that preparations are underway for the warming shelter, planned to operate November 15 through April 15, with further coordination planned with Together Place. A subcommittee is reviewing prior-year data and draft materials and is seeking information from Portland about its shelter agreements and practices. The committee also discussed its required three-month report, expected to be submitted around mid-November; staff will help draft a brief report covering the committee’s work and proposed strategic-plan schedule.
The committee reviewed a proposed schedule for developing a homelessness strategic plan, beginning with prevention on November 10 and aiming to have a full draft ready for review by May 25. Members discussed adding measures and data sources to the plan, tracking unresolved issues, and considering communication, stigma, recovery, and the distinct needs of different populations across the plan’s focus areas. For the prevention discussion, members requested information on the city’s existing eviction-prevention services, referral pathways, available data and resources, and service bottlenecks. No contract awards, purchasing decisions, budget allocations, or other procurement activity were identified.
🏛️
Physical Infrastructure
⚡
Energy & Utilities
🏗️
Construction & Infrastructure
An opinion article argues that bipartisan Senate action could reduce permitting barriers for energy and infrastructure projects nationwide. It identifies no bill, enacted change, funding, implementation timeline, or solicitation, so the proposal is a potential policy development rather than an active procurement opportunity.
Energy and infrastructure contractors may be affected if permitting barriers change, but the signal does not specify which processes or projects would be covered.
Procurement teams should treat this as a legislative possibility, not as a basis for changing bid schedules or assuming new requirements; the article provides no timeline or procurement contact.
🔒
Cybersecurity
✅
Regulatory Compliance
🛡️
Defense & Military
In July 2026, the Department of Defense paused part of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) rollout schedule. CMMC Level 2 applies to defense contractors handling Controlled Unclassified Information and is based on 110 requirements from NIST SP 800-171 Revision 2. The schedule change means contractors should confirm current DoD guidance and the requirements in each relevant contract before committing to a formal assessment by a Certified Third-Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO). A-LIGN, Coalfire, and Lazarus Alliance are identified as providers to compare, but their current authorization and assessment scope require confirmation.
Contractors handling CUI should use their specific contract and current DoD guidance to determine whether and when a formal Level 2 assessment is required; the signal does not specify a new deadline.
Companies evaluating assessment support can compare A-LIGN, Coalfire, and Lazarus Alliance, while verifying each provider’s current authorization and the scope of services offered.
The pause affects planning for assessment readiness and related cybersecurity services, but the signal identifies no contract award, funding amount, or solicitation.
The School District of Osceola County Board recognition meeting was held October 27, 2026. The board approved proclamations recognizing National School Bus Safety Week, National Military Family Month, Holocaust Education Week in Florida, and Celebrate Literacy Week. The meeting also recognized an AVID Global Achievement Award finalist, students with perfect scores on statewide assessments, National Merit Scholars, district employees, schools, and community partners. Recognition remarks noted partners’ donations, scholarships, and other community support, but no spending decisions were made.