State & Local Meeting

Weber County Work Session 10 12 26 Second Session

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 💰 Grants & Funding 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

Watch meeting recording

Weber County Commission work session (second session), October 22, 2026: Officials discussed a proposed amendment to the county’s contract-approval rules. It would allow Human Resources to approve standard retirement agreements and provide separate approval paths for certain employment settlements, litigation settlements, and litigation-related expert contracts, while retaining County Attorney review. Commissioners supported refining the language to ensure expenditures are within appropriated budgets and asked staff to bring the amendment forward for first and second readings; no adoption vote occurred. The commission also discussed the jail generator: the preliminary estimate for a new unit and related work was about $305,000. Staff were asked to obtain a load test and compare the existing generator’s remaining life and rebuilding cost with the new-unit option before the commission decides how to proceed.

The commission considered a possible application for a state infrastructure housing loan to support road improvements associated with planned development in the western corridor. Preliminary estimates included about $850,000 for road materials and roughly $5 million for right-of-way acquisition, including contingency; repayment options discussed included transportation sales-tax revenue, developer contributions, and impact fees. The commission made no decision on applying, and staff noted the application deadline was near the end of October or early November. Other discussions covered transferring valley sewer districts to a new Ogden Valley City district, a draft facility-rental policy, and a proposed transportation impact-fee adjustment for storage units; these discussions did not result in a contract award or procurement approval. The only recorded vote was to adjourn.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

City Council Budget Work Session 10/27/2029

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure 💼 Professional Services

The City of Seward City Council held a budget work session on October 27, 2026, to review the proposed FY 2027–28 departmental budgets. Procurement and spending items included a proposed $20,000 per year for emergency-preparedness contracted services in FY 2027 and FY 2028, including tabletop exercises and possible consultant support. The city reported about $432,000 in general-fund software and SaaS subscriptions and nearly $1 million in contracted services across departments. The council had approved a fleet assessment and replacement plan with Mercury Associates in August; after the firm’s October site work, the city proposed no motor-pool vehicle or equipment purchases in the FY 2027–28 budget pending the assessment’s recommendations. Fire hoses for two engines are planned through the capital improvement plan, and the Fire Department expects to issue an RFP for inspection, testing, and maintenance of fire alarms and sprinkler systems. The city’s audit-firm contract ends in 2027, with an RFP planned for early next year; any resulting cost adjustment would affect the FY 2028 budget. No final vote on the proposed budget was taken at this session.

Other budget topics included a proposed temporary records technician to support document scanning and a Laserfiche project, a water and wastewater rate study underway, and discussion of seasonal sales-tax and property-tax options, including possible exemptions under state House Bill 13. The city also noted that its water-tank project with T Bailey was nearing completion. A previously sponsored resolution allocating $12,000 for student-exchange airfare was already incorporated into the budget. The council’s budget and tax discussions were preliminary, with hearings and final budget action scheduled for later meetings.

Sources

International News

Canada Awards $15M TPOXX Supply Contract

🚑 Emergency Response 🏥 Healthcare 🛡️ Defense & Military

On October 28, 2026, Public Services and Procurement Canada awarded SIGA Technologies a follow-on contract to supply oral TPOXX (tecovirimat) to Canada’s Department of National Defence through March 31, 2031. The contract provides for purchases of up to approximately $15 million, including approximately $9 million in firm commitments over the first three years and approximately $6 million subject to options. The award continues Canadian procurement of a smallpox medical countermeasure and reinforces SIGA’s position as an incumbent supplier.

  • Procurement teams and suppliers should distinguish the committed portion from the optional purchases when assessing the contract’s scale and demand certainty.
  • For industry stakeholders, the follow-on award signals continued Canadian demand for smallpox countermeasures and an established supplier relationship; firms should factor that incumbent position into market assessments for related supply opportunities.
  • The purchasing arrangement runs through March 31, 2031, giving suppliers a defined timeframe for evaluating potential supporting capabilities and supply-chain needs.

Sources

Federal Event

FEMA Engages Alaska Transportation Industry

🚑 Emergency Response 🚚 Transportation 🚨 Public Safety

FEMA will hold a virtual industry day on November 17, 2026, to engage industry partners on transportation supporting disaster survivor-feeding missions in Alaska through the Disaster Overseas Transportation Support (DOTS) Alaska initiative, formerly known as Resource and Capability Transportation Support during Disasters (RCTSD). The event is an industry-engagement opportunity, not a solicitation or contract award; no specific requirements, vendors, or procurement schedule have been announced.

  • Key date: The industry day is scheduled for November 17, 2026—20 days from October 28, 2026.
  • Transportation providers and other interested contractors can use the event to engage with FEMA about the mission area, but should not treat it as an active solicitation or assume a contract timeline or requirements that have not been provided.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Bulloch County Data Center Committee Meeting October 27, 5:30 p.m.

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities

The Bulloch County Data Center Committee’s October 27, 2026 meeting focused on organizing the committee and defining its work. Members elected Dave Bennett as chair and Glenn Womack as vice chair, set meetings for 5:30 p.m., and reviewed ethics, conflicts of interest, open-meeting and public-records requirements. The committee was tasked with reviewing the county’s draft data center zoning resolution and related policies and producing actionable recommendations. Topics identified include site selection, power and water capacity, wastewater infrastructure, setbacks, noise, backup generation, traffic, stormwater, emergency services, decommissioning, enforcement, and infrastructure costs and funding.

No contracts, bids, vendor selections, or procurement awards were discussed or approved. County staff offered to help arrange subject-matter experts and said the county would handle related costs, including travel, but no specific expenditure or amount was approved. The commission chair said he intended to present a 180-day moratorium extension for consideration; the committee did not vote on that extension. Its recommendations may shape future requirements and opportunities for data center developers, particularly around utility connections and infrastructure costs.

Sources

State & Local News

Port St. Lucie Limits License Plate Camera Use

🌐 Digital Infrastructure 🚨 Public Safety 💻 Information Technology

Port St. Lucie Police Department’s Flock Safety automatic license plate reader network grew from eight cameras in 2022 to a peak of 53, while the contract increased from $22,000 in its first year to $470,406 by 2025. The department limited camera use in September, putting the network’s expansion, spending, and usage governance under greater scrutiny and signaling potential considerations for future public-safety technology procurements.

  • The reported contract value reached $470,406 by 2025, a substantial increase from its first-year cost of $22,000.
  • Public-safety agencies evaluating similar systems may face closer scrutiny of deployment scale, spending growth, and how camera use is governed.
  • Contractors pursuing these opportunities should clearly explain system costs as deployments scale and address usage governance in their proposals.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

Advisory Committee on Homelessness

The City of Bangor Advisory Committee on Homelessness met on October 28, 2026. City staff reported that preparations are underway for the warming shelter, planned to operate November 15 through April 15, with further coordination planned with Together Place. A subcommittee is reviewing prior-year data and draft materials and is seeking information from Portland about its shelter agreements and practices. The committee also discussed its required three-month report, expected to be submitted around mid-November; staff will help draft a brief report covering the committee’s work and proposed strategic-plan schedule.

The committee reviewed a proposed schedule for developing a homelessness strategic plan, beginning with prevention on November 10 and aiming to have a full draft ready for review by May 25. Members discussed adding measures and data sources to the plan, tracking unresolved issues, and considering communication, stigma, recovery, and the distinct needs of different populations across the plan’s focus areas. For the prevention discussion, members requested information on the city’s existing eviction-prevention services, referral pathways, available data and resources, and service bottlenecks. No contract awards, purchasing decisions, budget allocations, or other procurement activity were identified.

Sources

Federal Analysis

Senate Could Ease Energy Permitting

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities 🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure

An opinion article argues that bipartisan Senate action could reduce permitting barriers for energy and infrastructure projects nationwide. It identifies no bill, enacted change, funding, implementation timeline, or solicitation, so the proposal is a potential policy development rather than an active procurement opportunity.

  • Energy and infrastructure contractors may be affected if permitting barriers change, but the signal does not specify which processes or projects would be covered.
  • Procurement teams should treat this as a legislative possibility, not as a basis for changing bid schedules or assuming new requirements; the article provides no timeline or procurement contact.

Sources

Federal Analysis

DoD Pauses Part of CMMC Level 2 Rollout

🔒 Cybersecurity ✅ Regulatory Compliance 🛡️ Defense & Military

In July 2026, the Department of Defense paused part of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) rollout schedule. CMMC Level 2 applies to defense contractors handling Controlled Unclassified Information and is based on 110 requirements from NIST SP 800-171 Revision 2. The schedule change means contractors should confirm current DoD guidance and the requirements in each relevant contract before committing to a formal assessment by a Certified Third-Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO). A-LIGN, Coalfire, and Lazarus Alliance are identified as providers to compare, but their current authorization and assessment scope require confirmation.

  • Contractors handling CUI should use their specific contract and current DoD guidance to determine whether and when a formal Level 2 assessment is required; the signal does not specify a new deadline.
  • Companies evaluating assessment support can compare A-LIGN, Coalfire, and Lazarus Alliance, while verifying each provider’s current authorization and the scope of services offered.
  • The pause affects planning for assessment readiness and related cybersecurity services, but the signal identifies no contract award, funding amount, or solicitation.

Sources

State & Local Meeting

October 27th, 2026 5:30 pm Board Recognition Meeting | Osceola School District

📚 Education

The School District of Osceola County Board recognition meeting was held October 27, 2026. The board approved proclamations recognizing National School Bus Safety Week, National Military Family Month, Holocaust Education Week in Florida, and Celebrate Literacy Week. The meeting also recognized an AVID Global Achievement Award finalist, students with perfect scores on statewide assessments, National Merit Scholars, district employees, schools, and community partners. Recognition remarks noted partners’ donations, scholarships, and other community support, but no spending decisions were made.

Sources

International Event

RTX Scotland Hosts Glasgow Transport Conference

🏛️ Physical Infrastructure 🚚 Transportation

RTX Scotland will hold its free, two-day Knowledge Zone transport conference at Glasgow’s SEC on 18–19 November 2026. Scottish Government representatives, including keynote speaker Stephen Flynn, are expected to discuss transport priorities, infrastructure and commercial-vehicle innovation. More than 70 exhibitors will attend; the announcement identifies no specific contract or solicitation opportunities.

  • Procurement teams and suppliers can use the sessions to hear Scottish transport priorities and connect with government representatives and exhibitors.
  • The conference provides market intelligence and networking opportunities, but attendees should not treat the announcement as a procurement notice or evidence of a forthcoming contract.

Sources