Meeting

Richmond Common Council & RP&L Board of Directors of October 5, 2026

Body

WCTV Channels 11, 20 & 21

Date

October 04, 2026

Jurisdiction

State & Local

🏗️ Construction & Infrastructure ⚡ Energy & Utilities Physical Infrastructure Grants & Funding

The Richmond Common Council and Richmond Power & Light (RP&L) Board of Directors met on October 5, 2026. The Council approved the annexation fiscal plan and annexation of a 7.34-acre site at 2243 US Highway 35, where a 7-Eleven is under development. The developer has extended public water and sewer lines and is paying for a traffic signal. The mayor also reported that the city received a 2027 Community Crossings grant for milling and paving several streets; the grant amount and city match were not stated. The Council held a public hearing on the proposed 2027 budget, with adoption scheduled for October 19. It advanced several compensation ordinances, including police and sanitary district salaries, while firefighter compensation was held pending Board of Works review. A proposed fire department capital fund and other fund measures were referred to Finance Committee. An Indiana Criminal Justice Institute grant appropriation for additional road enforcement passed; the amount was not stated. The Council rejected, 9–0, an ordinance concerning unauthorized relocation of transient individuals.

RP&L approved its bills totaling $8,125,397.92 and awarded a bid to Wetzel Ford for a compact pickup truck for the Engineering Department, at $38,665, using funds approved in the 2026 capital budget. The general manager reported that the coal-combustion-residual project is estimated to cost just under $30 million, with approximately $12 million set aside through collections of about $2 million annually; permitting and state program review are ongoing and may delay the project. No other RP&L contract awards were reported.

Source

WCTV Channels 11, 20 & 21